Montana Counties

Montana, state of the United States of America. There are 56 county in Montana. You can find the list of these counties and detailed information from the links below.

Yellowstone County
Yellowstone County

Yellowstone County, population 162,990

Missoula County
Missoula County

Missoula County, population 121,630

Gallatin County
Gallatin County

Gallatin County, population 116,806

Sprawling across prairies, mountains and badlands, Montana's 56 counties offer incredible diversity. Here are some highlights:

Yellowstone County

Home to Billings, Yellowstone County provides:

  • Pompeys Pillar National Monument with Captain William Clark's engraved signature
  • Pictograph Cave State Park showcasing Native American rock art
  • ZooMontana with over 80 species of animals

Missoula County

In western Montana, Missoula County includes:

  • The eclectic mountain town of Missoula, home of the University of Montana
  • Top skiing destinations like Snowbowl and Discovery
  • Bitterroot-Selway Wilderness, over 1.3 million acres of rugged backcountry

Lewis and Clark County

Centered on Helena the state capital, the county offers:

  • Gates of the Mountains on the Missouri River, so named by Lewis & Clark
  • Original Gulch, a historic preserved mining town turned museum
  • Holter Lake for boating, fishing and swimming

Glacier County

Along the Canadian border, Glacier County contains:

  • Glacier National Park with over 1 million acres of peaks, lakes and trails
  • Blackfeet Nation and Browning, hub of Blackfeet culture and history
  • St. Mary Lake, a turquoise glacier-carved lake in the mountains

Montana's natural wonders, frontier history and Native heritage shine throughout its varied counties.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
County Name Population Cities
Beaverhead County 9,483 Beaverhead County cities
Big Horn County 13,063 Big Horn County cities
Blaine County 6,568 Blaine County cities
Broadwater County 6,444 Broadwater County cities
Carbon County 10,921 Carbon County cities
Carter County 1,235 Carter County cities
Cascade County 81,346 Cascade County cities
Chouteau County 5,699 Chouteau County cities
Custer County 11,292 Custer County cities
Daniels County 1,638 Daniels County cities
Dawson County 8,555 Dawson County cities
Deer Lodge County 9,204 Deer Lodge County cities
Fallon County 2,826 Fallon County cities
Fergus County 11,104 Fergus County cities
Flathead County 105,851 Flathead County cities
Gallatin County 116,806 Gallatin County cities
Garfield County 1,268 Garfield County cities
Glacier County 13,594 Glacier County cities
Golden Valley County 827 Golden Valley County cities
Granite County 3,317 Granite County cities
Hill County 16,358 Hill County cities
Jefferson County 12,360 Jefferson County cities
Judith Basin County 1,994 Judith Basin County cities
Lake County 30,986 Lake County cities
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 Lewis and Clark County cities
Liberty County 2,369 Liberty County cities
Lincoln County 20,343 Lincoln County cities
Madison County 8,959 Madison County cities
McCone County 1,648 McCone County cities
Meagher County 1,831 Meagher County cities
Mineral County 4,544 Mineral County cities
Missoula County 121,630 Missoula County cities
Musselshell County 4,669 Musselshell County cities
Park County 16,760 Park County cities
Petroleum County 500 Petroleum County cities
Phillips County 3,919 Phillips County cities
Pondera County 5,782 Pondera County cities
Powder River County 1,681 Powder River County cities
Powell County 6,817 Powell County cities
Prairie County 1,067 Prairie County cities
Ravalli County 45,002 Ravalli County cities
Richland County 11,043 Richland County cities
Roosevelt County 10,964 Roosevelt County cities
Rosebud County 8,836 Rosebud County cities
Sanders County 12,157 Sanders County cities
Sheridan County 3,261 Sheridan County cities
Silver Bow County 35,180 Silver Bow County cities
Stillwater County 9,888 Stillwater County cities
Sweet Grass County 3,684 Sweet Grass County cities
Teton County 6,249 Teton County cities
Toole County 4,686 Toole County cities
Treasure County 695 Treasure County cities
Valley County 7,359 Valley County cities
Wheatland County 2,157 Wheatland County cities
Wibaux County 939 Wibaux County cities
Yellowstone County 162,990 Yellowstone County cities

Counties on Map (56)