Silver Bow County, Montana

Silver Bow County: County in Montana, United States


Silver Bow County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 34,200 and a population density of 18 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 35,180 inhabitants. Its county seat is Butte. The county was created 143 years ago in 1880.

Silver Bow County locator map
Location of Silver Bow County on Montana map.

Quick Facts about Silver Bow County

Population : 35,180 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Area : 1862 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.08%
Land as percent of area : 99.92%
Named for : Silver Bow Creek
Altitude : 5,761 feet / 1756 meters
Capital : Butte
Establishment : January 01, 1881
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 06:17:25 (26th February 2024)
Density : 19 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : 2.79% (2010-2020)
Mansfield Fed Courthouse image
Mansfield Fed Courthouse
Mansfield Fed Courthouse image


Silver Bow County is located at 45°54'8"N 112°39'24"W (45.9023600, -112.6567200). It has 4 neighbors: Madison County, Beaverhead County, Deer Lodge County and Jefferson County.

Silver Bow County map

Silver Bow County Populated Places

Cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Silver Bow County.

City Name Population Title
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Walkerville 715 Town of the United States

Silver Bow County has 4 neighbours.

  • Butte


The population of Silver Bow County increased by 2.79% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 34,200 - census
2011 34,405 0.6% estimation process
2012 34,474 0.2% estimation process
2013 34,574 0.29% estimation process
2014 34,752 0.51% estimation process
2015 34,691 -0.18% estimation process
2016 34,696 0.01% estimation process
2017 34,811 0.33% estimation process
2018 34,739 -0.21% estimation process
2019 34,915 0.5% estimation process
2020 35,180 0.75% estimation process

Comitatul Silver Bow, Comte de Silver Bow, Comté de Silver Bow, Condado de Silver Bow, Condado han Silver Bow, Contea di Silver Bow, Hrabstwo Silver Bow, Okrug Silver Bou, Quan Silver Bow, Quận Silver Bow, Silver Bow, Silver Bow County, Silver Bow Kun, Silver Bow Kūn, Silver Bow konderria, Silver Bow maakond, Silver Bow megye, Silver srjan, Silver-Bau, Silver-Bou, Silverbow County, Silvur Bou, bi you te-yin gong shi he xian, mqatʿt sylfyr bw, shhrstan sylwr bw mwntana, shirubabou jun, silabhara bara ka'unti, Округ Силвер Боу, Силвер-Боу, Силвър Боу, Сілвер-Бау, Սիլվեր շրջան, سلور بو کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, سلور بو کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, شهرستان سیلور بو، مونتانا, مقاطعة سيلفير بو, সিলভার বৱ কাউন্টি, シルバーボウ郡, 比尤特-銀弓市和縣

People born in Silver Bow County (1)

Terry Rossland was born in Silver Bow County

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Billings 117,445 The most populous city in Montana.
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 The most populous city in Missoula County, Montana.
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States
Lincoln County 20,343 County in Montana, United States