Beaverhead County, Montana

Beaverhead County: County in Montana, United States


Beaverhead County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 9,246 and a population density of 1 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 9,483 inhabitants. Its county seat is Dillon. The county was created 159 years ago in 1864.

Beaverhead County locator map
Location of Beaverhead County on Montana map.

Quick Facts about Beaverhead County

Population : 9,483 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Area : 14432 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.5%
Land as percent of area : 99.5%
Named for : Beaverhead Rock
Altitude : 6,637 feet / 2023 meters
Capital : Dillon
Establishment : January 01, 1865
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 23:34:23 (22nd April 2024)
Density : 1 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : 2.5% (2010-2020)
US Post Office - Dillon Main '2013' - Beaverhead County  Montana image
US Post Office - Dillon Main '2013' - Beaverhead County Montana
US Post Office - Dillon Main '2013' - Beaverhead County  Montana image


Beaverhead County is located at 45°7'58"N 112°53'56"W (45.1327300, -112.8988900). It has 7 neighbors: Madison County, Clark County, Fremont County, Lemhi County, Deer Lodge County, Ravalli County and Silver Bow County.

Beaverhead County map

The largest city of Beaverhead County is Dillon with a population of 4,333. . See all Beaverhead County cities & populated places.

Beaverhead County Populated Places

Cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Beaverhead County.

City Name Population Title
Dillon 4,333 City in Montana, United States
Lima 227 Town in Montana, United States

Beaverhead County has 7 neighbours.

  • Dillon


The population of Beaverhead County increased by 2.5% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 9,246 - census
2011 9,210 -0.39% estimation process
2012 9,359 1.59% estimation process
2013 9,306 -0.57% estimation process
2014 9,337 0.33% estimation process
2015 9,295 -0.45% estimation process
2016 9,463 1.78% estimation process
2017 9,450 -0.14% estimation process
2018 9,412 -0.4% estimation process
2019 9,453 0.43% estimation process
2020 9,483 0.32% estimation process

Beaverhead, Beaverhead Kun, Beaverhead Kūn, Beaverhead konderria, Beaverhead megye, Beaverheadi maakond, Biverged, Biverhed srjan, Biverkhed, Bivurkhed, Comitatul Beaverhead, Comte de Beaverhead, Comté de Beaverhead, Condado de Beaverhead, Condado han Beaverhead, Contea di Beaverhead, Hrabstwo Beaverhead, Okrug Biverkhed, Quan Beaverhead, Quận Beaverhead, bebharaheda ka'unti, bi fu hei de xian, bibaheddo jun, mqatʿt byfyrhyd, Биверхед, Бивърхед, Бівергед, Округ Биверхед, Բիվերհեդ շրջան, بیورہیڈ کاؤنٹی, بیورہیڈ کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, مقاطعة بيفيرهيد, বেভারহেড কাউন্টি, ビーバーヘッド郡, 比弗黑德縣

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Billings 117,445 The most populous city in Montana.
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 The most populous city in Missoula County, Montana.
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States