Yellowstone County, Montana

Yellowstone County: County in Montana, United States of America


Yellowstone County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 147,972 and a population density of 22 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 162,990 inhabitants. Its county seat is Billings. The county was created 131 years ago in 1892.

Yellowstone County locator map
Location of Yellowstone County on Montana map.

Quick Facts about Yellowstone County

Population : 162,990 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Area : 6861 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.6%
Land as percent of area : 99.4%
Named for : Yellowstone River
Altitude : 3,002 feet / 915 meters
Capital : Billings
Establishment : January 01, 1893
Time Zone : UTC−07:00
Local time : 08:40:10 (19th April 2024)
Density : 24 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : 9.21% (2010-2020)
Pompey%27s Pillar  along No. 10  Central Montana '72432' image
Pompey%27s Pillar along No. 10 Central Montana '72432'
Pompey%27s Pillar  along No. 10  Central Montana '72432' image


Yellowstone County is located at 45°56'14"N 108°16'28"W (45.9372500, -108.2743500). It has 7 neighbors: Big Horn County, Carbon County, Golden Valley County, Musselshell County, Rosebud County, Stillwater County and Treasure County.

Yellowstone County map

The largest city of Yellowstone County is Billings with a population of 117,445. Other cities include, Lockwood population 6,797 and Laurel population 6,715. See all Yellowstone County cities & populated places.

Yellowstone County Populated Places

Cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Yellowstone County.

City Name Population Title
Billings 117,445 The most populous city in Montana.
Lockwood 6,797 Human settlement in Yellowstone County, Montana, United States of America
Laurel 6,715 City in Yellowstone County, Montana, USA
Broadview 182 Town in Montana, United States

Yellowstone County has 7 neighbours.

  • Billings


The population of Yellowstone County increased by 9.21% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 147,972 - census
2011 149,772 1.2% estimation process
2012 151,635 1.23% estimation process
2013 153,775 1.39% estimation process
2014 155,279 0.97% estimation process
2015 156,529 0.8% estimation process
2016 157,914 0.88% estimation process
2017 159,266 0.85% estimation process
2018 160,029 0.48% estimation process
2019 161,300 0.79% estimation process
2020 162,990 1.04% estimation process

Comitatul Yellowstone, Comte de Yellowstone, Comté de Yellowstone, Condado de Yellowstone, Condado han Yellowstone, Contea di Yellowstone, Elloustoun, Elouston srjan, Hrabstwo Yellowstone, Jellouston, Jeloustoun, Okrug Jeloustoun, Quan Yellowstone, Quận Yellowstone, Yellowstone, Yellowstone Kun, Yellowstone Kūn, Yellowstone konderria, Yellowstone megye, Yellowstonei maakond, huang shi xian, ierosuton jun, iyelostona ka'unti, mqatʿt ylwstwn, shhrstan ylwwastwn mwntana, yalostona ka'unti, Єллоустоун, Йеллоустон, Йелоустоун, Округ Јелоустоун, Ելոուստոն շրջան, شهرستان یلوواستون، مونتانا, مقاطعة يلوستون, یلوسٹون کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, ییلوسٹون کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, यलोस्टोन काउंटी, ইয়েলোস্টোন কাউন্টি, イエローストーン郡, 黃石縣

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Billings 117,445 The most populous city in Montana.
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 The most populous city in Missoula County, Montana.
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States
Lincoln County 20,343 County in Montana, United States