Stillwater County, Montana

Stillwater County: County in Montana, United States


Stillwater County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 9,117 and a population density of 2 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 9,888 inhabitants. Its county seat is Columbus. The county was created 111 years ago in 1912.

Stillwater County locator map
Location of Stillwater County on Montana map.

Quick Facts about Stillwater County

Population : 9,888 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Area : 4674 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.5%
Land as percent of area : 99.5%
Altitude : 4,072 feet / 1241 meters
Capital : Columbus
Establishment : January 01, 1913
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 02:15:15 (29th February 2024)
Density : 2 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : 7.8% (2010-2020)
Stillwater county courthouse image
Stillwater county courthouse
Stillwater county courthouse image


Stillwater County is located at 45°40'10"N 109°23'41"W (45.6694400, -109.3947700). It has 3 neighbors: Carbon County, Golden Valley County and Yellowstone County.

Stillwater County map

Stillwater County Populated Places

Cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Stillwater County.

City Name Population Title
Columbus 2,117 Town in Stillwater County, Montana, United States
Absarokee 1,150 Town in Montana

Stillwater County has 3 neighbours.

  • Columbus


The population of Stillwater County increased by 7.8% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 9,117 - census
2011 9,156 0.43% estimation process
2012 9,166 0.11% estimation process
2013 9,255 0.96% estimation process
2014 9,235 -0.22% estimation process
2015 9,425 2.02% estimation process
2016 9,360 -0.69% estimation process
2017 9,419 0.63% estimation process
2018 9,483 0.67% estimation process
2019 9,642 1.65% estimation process
2020 9,888 2.49% estimation process

Comitatul Stillwater, Comte de Stillwater, Comté de Stillwater, Condado de Stillwater, Condado han Stillwater, Contea di Stillwater, Hrabstwo Stillwater, Okrug Stilvoter, Quan Stillwater, Quận Stillwater, Stilluoter, Stillvoter, Stillwater, Stillwater Kun, Stillwater Kūn, Stillwater konderria, Stillwater megye, Stiluoter srjan, Stiluotur, mqatʿt stylwatr, shhrstan astylwatr mwntana, si di er wo te xian, stilaraatara ka'unti, sutiruu~ota jun, Округ Стилвотер, Стиллуотер, Стилуотър, Стіллвотер, Ստիլուոտեր շրջան, سٹلواٹر کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, سٹیلواٹر کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, شهرستان استیلواتر، مونتانا, مقاطعة ستيلواتر, স্টিলৱাটার কাউন্টি, スティルウォーター郡, 斯蒂爾沃特縣

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Billings 117,445 The most populous city in Montana.
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 The most populous city in Missoula County, Montana.
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States