Meagher County, Montana

Meagher County: County in Montana, United States


Meagher County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 1,891. After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 1,831 inhabitants. Its county seat is White Sulphur Springs. The county was created 157 years ago in 1866.

Meagher County locator map
Location of Meagher County on Montana map.

Quick Facts about Meagher County

Population : 1,831 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Area : 6203 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.1%
Land as percent of area : 99.9%
Named for : Thomas Francis Meagher
Altitude : 5,174 feet / 1577 meters
Capital : White Sulphur Springs
Establishment : January 01, 1867
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 02:38:57 (29th February 2024)
Population growth : -3.28% (2010-2020)
Byron R. Sherman House 06 image
Byron R. Sherman House 06
Byron R. Sherman House 06 image


Meagher County is located at 46°35'53"N 110°53'8"W (46.5981900, -110.8856400). It has 8 neighbors: Broadwater County, Cascade County, Gallatin County, Judith Basin County, Lewis and Clark County, Park County, Sweet Grass County and Wheatland County.

Meagher County map

The largest city of Meagher County is White Sulphur Springs with a population of 915. . See all Meagher County cities & populated places.

Meagher County Populated Places

Cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Meagher County.

City Name Population Title
White Sulphur Springs 915 City in Montana

Meagher County has 8 neighbours.

  • White Sulphur Springs


According to census records, the population of Meagher County decreased by 3.28% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 1,891 - census
2011 1,877 -0.75% estimation process
2012 1,886 0.48% estimation process
2013 1,904 0.95% estimation process
2014 1,856 -2.59% estimation process
2015 1,821 -1.92% estimation process
2016 1,845 1.3% estimation process
2017 1,852 0.38% estimation process
2018 1,857 0.27% estimation process
2019 1,862 0.27% estimation process
2020 1,831 -1.69% estimation process

Comitatul Meagher, Comte de Meagher, Comté de Meagher, Condado de Meagher, Condado han Meagher, Contea di Meagher, Hrabstwo Meagher, Mar, Marh srjan, Meagher, Meagher Kun, Meagher Kūn, Meagher konderria, Meagher megye, Migur, Okrug Mar, Quan Meagher, Quận Meagher, ma er xian, ma jun, miyeghera ka'unti, mqatʿt maghyr, shhrstan maygr mwntana, Мар, Мигър, Округ Мар, Մարհ շրջան, شهرستان مائگر، مونتانا, مقاطعة ماغير, میاگہر کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, میگھر کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, মিয়েঘের কাউন্টি, マー郡, 馬爾縣

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Billings 117,445 The most populous city in Montana.
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 The most populous city in Missoula County, Montana.
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States