Wheatland County, Montana

Wheatland County: County in Montana, United States


Wheatland County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 2,168 and a population density of 1 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 2,157 inhabitants. Its county seat is Harlowton. The county was created 107 years ago in 1917.

Wheatland County locator map
Location of Wheatland County on Montana map.

Quick Facts about Wheatland County

Population : 2,157 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Area : 3699 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.4%
Land as percent of area : 99.6%
Named for : wheat
Altitude : 4,298 feet / 1310 meters
Capital : Harlowton
Establishment : February 02, 1917
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 15:00:48 (12th April 2024)
Density : 1 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : -0.51% (2010-2020)
Harlowton MT Wheatland County courthouse image
Harlowton MT Wheatland County courthouse
Harlowton MT Wheatland County courthouse image


Wheatland County is located at 46°27'59"N 109°50'40"W (46.4663400, -109.8444000). It has 3 neighbors: Judith Basin County, Meagher County and Sweet Grass County.

Wheatland County map

The largest city of Wheatland County is Harlowton with a population of 998. Other cities include and Judith Gap population 127. See all Wheatland County cities & populated places.

Wheatland County Populated Places

Cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Wheatland County.

City Name Population Title
Harlowton 998 City in Montana
Judith Gap 127 City in Wheatland County, Montana, United States

Wheatland County has 3 neighbours.

  • Harlowton


According to census records, the population of Wheatland County decreased by 0.51% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 2,168 - census
2011 2,132 -1.69% estimation process
2012 2,091 -1.96% estimation process
2013 2,123 1.51% estimation process
2014 2,090 -1.58% estimation process
2015 2,111 0.99% estimation process
2016 2,130 0.89% estimation process
2017 2,161 1.43% estimation process
2018 2,184 1.05% estimation process
2019 2,126 -2.73% estimation process
2020 2,157 1.44% estimation process

Comitatul Wheatland, Comte de Wheatland, Comté de Wheatland, Condado de Wheatland, Condado han Wheatland, Contea di Wheatland, Hrabstwo Wheatland, Okrug Vitland, Owitlend srjan, Quan Wheatland, Quận Wheatland, Uijtlend, Uitlend, Vitlend, Wheatland, Wheatland Kun, Wheatland Kūn, Wheatland konderria, Wheatland megye, Wheatlandi maakond, hui te lan xian, huyitalyanda ka'unti, mqatʿt wytland, shhrstan wytlnd mwntana, u~itorando jun, Вітленд, Округ Витланд, Уийтленд, Уитленд, Ուիտլենդ շրջան, شهرستان ویتلند، مونتانا, مقاطعة ويتلاند, ویٹلینڈ کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, ویٹلینڈ کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, হুয়িটল্যান্ড কাউন্টি, ウィートランド郡, 惠特蘭縣

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Billings 117,445 The most populous city in Montana.
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 The most populous city in Missoula County, Montana.
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States