Liberty County, Montana

Liberty County: County in Montana, United States


Liberty County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 2,339 and a population density of 1 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 2,369 inhabitants. Its county seat is Chester. The county was created 103 years ago in 1920.

Liberty County locator map
Location of Liberty County on Montana map.

Quick Facts about Liberty County

Population : 2,369 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Different from : Liberty County, Liberty County, Liberty County
Area : 3748 km2
Water as percent of area : 1.2%
Land as percent of area : 98.8%
Named for : liberty
Capital : Chester
Establishment : November 11, 1920
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 17:04:22 (23rd February 2024)
Density : 1 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : 1.27% (2010-2020)
Liberty County Courthouse2 image
Liberty County Courthouse2
Liberty County Courthouse2 image


Liberty County is located at 48°33'42"N 111°1'29"W (48.5616900, -111.0246100). It has 3 neighbors: Hill County, Chouteau County and Toole County.

Liberty County map

Liberty County Populated Places

Cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Liberty County.

City Name Population Title
Chester 870 Town in and the county seat of Liberty County, Montana, United States

Liberty County has 3 neighbours.

  • Chester


The population of Liberty County increased by 1.27% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 2,339 - census
2011 2,379 1.68% estimation process
2012 2,393 0.59% estimation process
2013 2,362 -1.31% estimation process
2014 2,348 -0.6% estimation process
2015 2,391 1.8% estimation process
2016 2,409 0.75% estimation process
2017 2,407 -0.08% estimation process
2018 2,416 0.37% estimation process
2019 2,337 -3.38% estimation process
2020 2,369 1.35% estimation process

Comitatul Liberty, Comte de Liberty, Comté de Liberty, Condado de Liberty, Condado han Liberty, Contea di Liberty, Hrabstwo Liberty, Liberti, Liberti srjan, Liberty, Liberty Kun, Liberty Kūn, Liberty konderria, Liberty megye, Liburti, Okrug Liberti, Quan Liberty, Quận Liberty, li bai ti xian, libarti ka'unti, mqatʿt lybyrty, ribati jun, shhrstan lybrty mwntana, Либерти, Либърти, Ліберті, Округ Либерти, Լիբերտի շրջան, شهرستان لیبرتی، مونتانا, لبرٹی کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, لیبرٹی کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, مقاطعة ليبيرتي, লিবার্টি কাউন্টি, リバティ郡, 利柏提縣

Other places with the same name (4)

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Billings 117,445 The most populous city in Montana.
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 The most populous city in Missoula County, Montana.
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States