Teton County, Montana

Teton County: County in Montana, United States


Teton County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 6,073 and a population density of 1 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 6,249 inhabitants. Its county seat is Choteau. The county was created 129 years ago in 1892.

Quick Facts about Teton County

Population : 6,249 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Different from : Teton County, Teton County
Area : 5939 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.9%
Land as percent of area : 99.1%
Named for : Teton Range
Capital : Choteau
Establishment : January 01, 1893
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 15:41:40 (2nd December 2022)
Density : 1 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : 2.82% (2010-2020)
Teton County locator map
Location of Teton County on Montana map.
Teton County Courthouse image
Teton County Courthouse
Teton County Courthouse image


Teton County is located at 47°50'14"N 112°14'27"W (47.8372900, -112.2408000). It has 3 neighbors: Cascade County, Lewis and Clark County and Pondera County.

Teton County map

The largest city of Teton County is Choteau with a population of 1,744. . See all Teton County cities & populated places.

Teton County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Teton County.

City Name Population Title
Choteau 1,744 City in Montana
Fairfield 734 Town in Montana, United States

Teton County has 3 neighbours.

  • Choteau


The population of Teton County increased by 2.82% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 6,073 - census
2011 6,060 -0.21% estimation process
2012 6,057 -0.05% estimation process
2013 6,051 -0.1% estimation process
2014 6,031 -0.33% estimation process
2015 6,062 0.51% estimation process
2016 6,011 -0.85% estimation process
2017 6,091 1.31% estimation process
2018 6,117 0.43% estimation process
2019 6,147 0.49% estimation process
2020 6,249 1.63% estimation process

Comitatul Teton, Comte de Teton, Comté de Teton, Condado de Teton, Condado han Teton, Contea di Teton, Hrabstwo Teton, Okrug Titon, Quan Teton, Quận Teton, Teton, Teton Kun, Teton Kūn, Teton konderria, Teton megye, Titon, mqatʿt tytwn, shhrstan ttwn mwntana, tetana ka'unti, ti dun xian, titon jun, Округ Титон, Тетон, Титон, Թետոն շրջան, شهرستان تتون، مونتانا, مقاطعة تيتون, ٹیٹان کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, ٹیٹن کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, টেটন কাউন্টি, ティトン郡, 提頓縣

Other places with the same name (3)

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Billings 109,736 City in Montana, United States of America
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 County seat of Missoula County, Montana, United States
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States