Powder River County, Montana

Powder River County: County in Montana, United States


Powder River County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 1,743. After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 1,681 inhabitants. Its county seat is Broadus. The county was created 103 years ago in 1918.

Quick Facts about Powder River County

Population : 1,681 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Area : 8542 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.02%
Land as percent of area : 99.98%
Named for : Powder River
Altitude : 3,402 feet / 1037 meters
Capital : Broadus
Establishment : January 01, 1919
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 18:17:25 (30th November 2022)
Population growth : -3.69% (2010-2020)
Powder River County locator map
Location of Powder River County on Montana map.
Broadus MT Powder River County Courthouse image
Broadus MT Powder River County Courthouse
Broadus MT Powder River County Courthouse image


Powder River County is located at 45°23'42"N 105°37'48"W (45.3950100, -105.6301000). It has 2 neighbors: Campbell County and Custer County.

Powder River County map

Powder River County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Powder River County.

City Name Population Title
Broadus 463 Town of the United States

Powder River County has 2 neighbours.

  • Broadus


According to census records, the population of Powder River County decreased by 3.69% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 1,743 - census
2011 1,739 -0.23% estimation process
2012 1,753 0.8% estimation process
2013 1,753 0% estimation process
2014 1,777 1.35% estimation process
2015 1,768 -0.51% estimation process
2016 1,746 -1.26% estimation process
2017 1,750 0.23% estimation process
2018 1,720 -1.74% estimation process
2019 1,682 -2.26% estimation process
2020 1,681 -0.06% estimation process

Comitatul Powder River, Comte de Powder River, Comté de Powder River, Condado de Powder River, Condado han Powder River, Contea di Powder River, Hrabstwo Powder River, Okrug Pauder River, Pauder-River, Paudur Rivur, Powder River, Powder River Kun, Powder River Kūn, Powder River konderria, Powder River megye, Quan Powder River, Quận Powder River, Rouder-River, bao de he xian, mqatʿt bwdyr ryfyr, pa'udara ribhara ka'unti, paudariba jun, shhrstan pwdr rywr mwntana, Округ Паудер Ривер, Паудер-Ривер, Паудър Ривър, Роудер-Рівер, Փաուդեր Ռիվեր շրջան, شهرستان پودر ریور، مونتانا, مقاطعة بودير ريفير, پاؤڈر رور کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, پاؤڈر ریور کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, পাউডার রিভার কাউন্টি, パウダーリバー郡, 保德河縣

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Billings 109,736 City in Montana, United States of America
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 County seat of Missoula County, Montana, United States
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States