Carter County, Montana

Carter County: County in southeastern Montana, United States


Carter County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 1,160. After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 1,235 inhabitants. Its county seat is Ekalaka. The county was created 105 years ago in 1916.

Quick Facts about Carter County

Population : 1,235 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Different from : Carter County, Carter County, Carter County, Carter County
Area : 8672 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.2%
Land as percent of area : 99.8%
Named for : Thomas H. Carter
Capital : Ekalaka
Establishment : January 01, 1917
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 12:21:01 (3rd December 2022)
Population growth : 6.07% (2010-2020)


Carter County is located at 45°31'0"N 104°32'10"W (45.5167700, -104.5361600).

Carter County map

Carter County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Carter County.

City Name Population Title
Ekalaka 367 Town and county seat in Carter County, Montana, United States

  • Ekalaka


The population of Carter County increased by 6.07% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 1,160 - census
2011 1,136 -2.11% estimation process
2012 1,157 1.82% estimation process
2013 1,152 -0.43% estimation process
2014 1,150 -0.17% estimation process
2015 1,147 -0.26% estimation process
2016 1,175 2.38% estimation process
2017 1,223 3.92% estimation process
2018 1,230 0.57% estimation process
2019 1,252 1.76% estimation process
2020 1,235 -1.38% estimation process

Carter, Carter Kun, Carter Kūn, Carter konderria, Carter megye, Comitatul Carter, Comte de Carter, Comté de Carter, Condado de Carter, Condado han Carter, Contea di Carter, Hrabstwo Carter, Karter, Kartur, Okrug Karter, Quan Carter, Quận Carter, ka te xian, kartera ka'unti, kata jun, mqatʿt kartyr, shhrstan kartr mwntana, Картер, Картър, Округ Картер, Քարտեր շրջան, شهرستان کارتر، مونتانا, مقاطعة كارتير, کارٹر کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, کارٹر کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, কার্টের কাউন্টি, カーター郡, 卡特縣

Other places with the same name (5)

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Billings 109,736 City in Montana, United States of America
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 County seat of Missoula County, Montana, United States
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States