Fergus County, Montana

Fergus County: County in Montana, United States


Fergus County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 11,586 and a population density of 1 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 11,104 inhabitants. Its county seat is Lewistown. The county was created 139 years ago in 1884.

Fergus County locator map
Location of Fergus County on Montana map.

Quick Facts about Fergus County

Population : 11,104 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Area : 11267 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.2%
Land as percent of area : 99.8%
Named for : James Fergus
Altitude : 4,058 feet / 1237 meters
Capital : Lewistown
Establishment : January 01, 1885
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 00:32:05 (14th June 2024)
Density : 1 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : -4.34% (2010-2020)
Lewistown MT Fergus County Courthouse image
Lewistown MT Fergus County Courthouse
Lewistown MT Fergus County Courthouse image


Fergus County is located at 47°15'49"N 109°13'28"W (47.2635700, -109.2243300). It has 2 neighbors: Blaine County and Petroleum County.

Fergus County map

The largest city of Fergus County is Lewistown with a population of 5,905. . See all Fergus County cities & populated places.

Fergus County Populated Places

Cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Fergus County.

City Name Population Title
Lewistown 5,905 City in Montana, United States
Denton 234 Town in Montana, United States
Winifred 196 Town in Montana, USA
Moore 182 Town of the United States
Grass Range 105 Town of the United States

Fergus County has 2 neighbours.

  • Lewistown


According to census records, the population of Fergus County decreased by 4.34% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 11,586 - census
2011 11,461 -1.09% estimation process
2012 11,391 -0.61% estimation process
2013 11,464 0.64% estimation process
2014 11,329 -1.19% estimation process
2015 11,307 -0.19% estimation process
2016 11,349 0.37% estimation process
2017 11,281 -0.6% estimation process
2018 11,117 -1.48% estimation process
2019 11,050 -0.61% estimation process
2020 11,104 0.49% estimation process

Comitatul Fergus, Comte de Fergus, Comté de Fergus, Condado de Fergus, Condado han Fergus, Contea di Fergus, Fergu srjan, Fergus, Fergus Kun, Fergus Kūn, Fergus konderria, Fergus megye, Furgjus, Hrabstwo Fergus, Okrug Fergus, Quan Fergus, Quận Fergus, fagasu jun, fu ge si xian, mqatʿt fyrghws, pheragusa ka'unti, shhrstan frgs mwntana, Округ Фергус, Фергус, Ферґус, Фъргюс, Ֆերգու շրջան, شهرستان فرگس، مونتانا, فرگس کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, فرگس کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, مقاطعة فيرغوس, ফেরগুস কাউন্টি, ファーガス郡, 弗格斯縣

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Billings 117,445 The most populous city in Montana.
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 The most populous city in Missoula County, Montana.
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States