Powell County, Montana

Powell County: County in Montana, United States


Powell County is a county located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 7,027 and a population density of 1 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 6,817 inhabitants. Its county seat is Deer Lodge. The county was created 122 years ago in 1900.

Quick Facts about Powell County

Population : 6,817 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Montana (United States)
Different from : Powell County
Area : 6042 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.3%
Land as percent of area : 99.7%
Named for : Mount Powell
Capital : Deer Lodge
Establishment : January 01, 1901
Time Zone : America/Denver
Local time : 08:36:55 (27th March 2023)
Density : 1 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : -3.08% (2010-2020)
Powell County locator map
Location of Powell County on Montana map.
Powell County Courthouse 05 image
Powell County Courthouse 05
Powell County Courthouse 05 image


Powell County is located at 46°51'24"N 112°56'10"W (46.8566300, -112.9362000). It has 4 neighbors: Deer Lodge County, Flathead County, Granite County and Lewis and Clark County.

Powell County map

The largest city of Powell County is Deer Lodge with a population of 2,805. . See all Powell County cities & populated places.

Powell County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Powell County.

City Name Population Title
Deer Lodge 2,805 City in and the county seat of Powell County, Montana, United States
Dutton 325 Town of the United States

Powell County has 4 neighbours.

  • Deer Lodge


According to census records, the population of Powell County decreased by 3.08% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 7,027 - census
2011 7,084 0.8% estimation process
2012 7,081 -0.04% estimation process
2013 6,957 -1.78% estimation process
2014 6,882 -1.09% estimation process
2015 6,799 -1.22% estimation process
2016 6,841 0.61% estimation process
2017 6,789 -0.77% estimation process
2018 6,953 2.36% estimation process
2019 6,890 -0.91% estimation process
2020 6,817 -1.07% estimation process

Comitatul Powell, Comte de Powell, Comté de Powell, Condado de Powell, Condado han Powell, Contea di Powell, Hrabstwo Powell, Okrug Pauel, Pauehll, Pauul, Povell, Powell, Powell Kun, Powell Kūn, Powell konderria, Powell megye, Powelli maakond, Quan Powell, Quận Powell, bao wei er xian, mqatʿt bawl, paraela ka'unti, paueru jun, shhrstan pawl mwntana, Округ Пауел, Пауъл, Пауэлл, Повелл, Փաուել շրջան, شهرستان پاول، مونتانا, مقاطعة باول, پاول کاؤنٹی، مونٹانا, پاول کاؤنٹی،مونٹانا, পাৱেল কাউন্টি, パウエル郡, 鮑威爾縣

Other places with the same name (2)

Montana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Yellowstone County 162,990 County in Montana, United States of America
Missoula County 121,630 County in Montana, United States
Gallatin County 116,806 County in Montana, United States
Billings 109,736 City in Montana, United States of America
Flathead County 105,851 County in Montana, United States
Cascade County 81,346 County in central Montana, United States
Missoula 76,848 County seat of Missoula County, Montana, United States
Lewis and Clark County 70,229 County in Montana, United States
Great Falls 58,353 Town in Cascade County, Montana, United States
Bozeman 50,970 Town in Gallatin County, Montana, United States
Ravalli County 45,002 County in Montana, United States
Silver Bow County 35,180 County in Montana, United States
Butte 34,190 Consolidated city-county in Montana, United States
Helena 33,737 State capital of Montana, United States and seat of Lewis and Clark County
Lake County 30,986 County in Montana, United States
Kalispell 25,329 City in Flathead County, Montana, United States