Cities & Towns in Porter County, IN

Porter County, county in Indiana, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 170,980 inhabitants. The county was created 189 years ago in 1835. Its county seat is Valparaiso.

There are 13 city/town in Porter County, IN. The largest city of Porter County is Portage with a population of 90,543. Other cities include, Valparaiso population 33,944, Chesterton population 13,433, Lakes of the Four Seasons population 7,033, South Haven population 5,282


Portage, The second most populous city in Porter County, Indiana.


Valparaiso, Town in Porter County, Indiana, United States


Chesterton, Town in the U.

Bordered by Lake Michigan to the north, Porter County sits in the extreme northwest corner of Indiana. Its prime location along the lakeshore and proximity to Chicago make it a popular destination. The county seat, Valparaiso, provides urban amenities like shopping centers, dining, and entertainment. Founded in 1859, it also has historic roots that can be seen in places like the Porter County Museum and downtown district.

Just west of Valparaiso sits the city of Portage, named for the short portage between the Kankakee River and Lake Michigan that allowed early travelers to cross between the Great Lakes and Mississippi River basins. Portage is home to the Port of Indiana-Burns Harbor, one of the largest shipping ports on the Great Lakes.

The shoreline community of Chesterton oozes small-town charm, especially at places like Thomas Centennial Park along Coffee Creek. Beach lovers flock to the Indiana Dunes that stretch along the lakeshore. Beverly Shores, Ogden Dunes, Dune Acres, and Pines are just some of the tiny beach towns that provide lakefront living.

Throughout Porter County, artistic flair combines with Midwestern sensibilities. Quaint downtowns, stunning natural scenery, and Lake Michigan recreation give residents the best of all worlds. From historic hamlets to modern development, Porter County has a diverse collection of welcoming communities.

All Porter County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Porter County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Beverly Shores Town in Indiana 595
Burns Harbor Town in Indiana, United States 1,922
Chesterton Town in the U. 13,433
Dune Acres City in Porter County, Indiana, United States of America 182
Hebron City in Porter County, Indiana, United States of America 3,669
Kouts Town in Indiana, United States 1,963
Lakes of the Four Seasons City in Indiana, United States of America 7,033
Ogden Dunes Town in Porter County, Indiana, United States 1,083
Portage The second most populous city in Porter County, Indiana. 90,543
Porter Settlement in Indiana, USA 4,840
South Haven Town in Michigan, USA 5,282
Town of Pines Town of the United States 688
Valparaiso Town in Porter County, Indiana, United States 33,944

County Cities on Map (13)

Indiana Counties (92)

Marion County (966,183) Lake County (487,536) Allen County (382,187) Hamilton County (344,238) Saint Joseph County (271,484) Elkhart County (206,161) Tippecanoe County (196,115) Vanderburgh County (182,447) Hendricks County (173,251) Porter County (170,980) Johnson County (160,607) Monroe County (148,219) Madison County (129,681) Clark County (119,266) Delaware County (113,454) LaPorte County (109,663) Vigo County (106,608) Bartholomew County (84,447) Howard County (82,732) Hancock County (79,553) Kosciusko County (78,988) Floyd County (78,936) Morgan County (70,707) Boone County (69,347) Wayne County (65,778) Grant County (65,225) Warrick County (63,269) Dearborn County (49,824) Henry County (48,033) Noble County (47,832) Marshall County (46,108) Lawrence County (45,496) Shelby County (44,871) Jackson County (44,222) DeKalb County (43,670) Dubois County (42,542) Harrison County (40,682) LaGrange County (40,119) Montgomery County (38,365) Putnam County (37,469) Cass County (37,388) Knox County (36,522) Huntington County (36,395) Adams County (35,839) Miami County (35,328) Steuben County (34,831) Whitley County (34,378) Gibson County (33,825) Daviess County (33,505) Jasper County (33,440) Clinton County (32,206) Greene County (32,203) Jefferson County (32,110) Wabash County (30,784) Ripley County (28,448) Washington County (28,213) Wells County (28,142) Jennings County (27,515) Decatur County (26,584) Clay County (26,246) Posey County (25,275) Randolph County (24,191) White County (24,165) Scott County (23,788) Starke County (23,049) Fayette County (22,892) Franklin County (22,761) Owen County (20,833) Sullivan County (20,578) Jay County (20,416) Carroll County (20,228) Spencer County (20,225) Fulton County (20,018) Orange County (19,651) Perry County (19,154) Parke County (16,871) Rush County (16,649) Fountain County (16,511) Vermillion County (15,329) Tipton County (15,227) Brown County (15,112) Newton County (13,907) Pulaski County (12,388) Pike County (12,378) Blackford County (11,782) Switzerland County (10,724) Crawford County (10,629) Martin County (10,079) Benton County (8,741) Warren County (8,194) Union County (7,119) Ohio County (5,892)