Cities & Towns in Jackson County, IN

Jackson County, county in Indiana, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 44,222 inhabitants. The county was created 208 years ago in 1816. Its county seat is Brownstown.

There are 5 city/town in Jackson County, IN. The largest city of Jackson County is Seymour with a population of 20,096. Other cities include, Brownstown population 2,952, Maumee population 2,824, Crothersville population 1,529 and Medora population 693


Seymour, City in Indiana, United States


Brownstown, Town in Indiana, United States


Maumee, Unincorporated community in Jackson County, Indiana

Jackson County is located in south-central Indiana. Some of the notable cities and towns in Jackson County include:

Seymour - Seymour is the largest city and county seat of Jackson County. It had a population of 19,101 as of the 2020 census. Seymour was founded in 1816 and is known as the "Crossroads of America" due to its proximity to major highways. Key attractions include Freeman Field and the Southern Indiana Center for the Arts.

Brownstown - Brownstown is a town located north of Seymour. It had a population of 2,947 as of 2020. Brownstown was founded in 1836 and has historic architecture dating back to the late 1800s. The Brownstown Downtown Historic District is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Medora - Medora is a small town located west of Seymour along the East Fork White River. It had a population of 693 as of 2020. Points of interest include the Medora Covered Bridge and Medora Historic District.

Crothersville - Crothersville is a town located southeast of Seymour. It had 1,591 residents as of 2020. It was founded in 1816. The Crothersville Community Fair is held annually in June.

Freetown - Freetown is a small unincorporated town located north of Seymour. The Freetown Village Historic District captures the historic nature of this 19th century pioneer village.

In summary, Jackson County contains several historic small towns, with Seymour being the economic hub and largest city in the county. Southern Indiana rural charm and architecture are exemplified in its communities.

All Jackson County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Jackson County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Brownstown Town in Indiana, United States 2,952
Crothersville City in Jackson County, Indiana, United States of America 1,529
Maumee Unincorporated community in Jackson County, Indiana 2,824
Medora Town in Jackson County, Indiana, United States 693
Seymour City in Indiana, United States 20,096

County Cities on Map (5)

Indiana Counties (92)

Marion County (966,183) Lake County (487,536) Allen County (382,187) Hamilton County (344,238) Saint Joseph County (271,484) Elkhart County (206,161) Tippecanoe County (196,115) Vanderburgh County (182,447) Hendricks County (173,251) Porter County (170,980) Johnson County (160,607) Monroe County (148,219) Madison County (129,681) Clark County (119,266) Delaware County (113,454) LaPorte County (109,663) Vigo County (106,608) Bartholomew County (84,447) Howard County (82,732) Hancock County (79,553) Kosciusko County (78,988) Floyd County (78,936) Morgan County (70,707) Boone County (69,347) Wayne County (65,778) Grant County (65,225) Warrick County (63,269) Dearborn County (49,824) Henry County (48,033) Noble County (47,832) Marshall County (46,108) Lawrence County (45,496) Shelby County (44,871) Jackson County (44,222) DeKalb County (43,670) Dubois County (42,542) Harrison County (40,682) LaGrange County (40,119) Montgomery County (38,365) Putnam County (37,469) Cass County (37,388) Knox County (36,522) Huntington County (36,395) Adams County (35,839) Miami County (35,328) Steuben County (34,831) Whitley County (34,378) Gibson County (33,825) Daviess County (33,505) Jasper County (33,440) Clinton County (32,206) Greene County (32,203) Jefferson County (32,110) Wabash County (30,784) Ripley County (28,448) Washington County (28,213) Wells County (28,142) Jennings County (27,515) Decatur County (26,584) Clay County (26,246) Posey County (25,275) Randolph County (24,191) White County (24,165) Scott County (23,788) Starke County (23,049) Fayette County (22,892) Franklin County (22,761) Owen County (20,833) Sullivan County (20,578) Jay County (20,416) Carroll County (20,228) Spencer County (20,225) Fulton County (20,018) Orange County (19,651) Perry County (19,154) Parke County (16,871) Rush County (16,649) Fountain County (16,511) Vermillion County (15,329) Tipton County (15,227) Brown County (15,112) Newton County (13,907) Pulaski County (12,388) Pike County (12,378) Blackford County (11,782) Switzerland County (10,724) Crawford County (10,629) Martin County (10,079) Benton County (8,741) Warren County (8,194) Union County (7,119) Ohio County (5,892)