Cities & Towns in Hancock County, IN

Hancock County, county in Indiana, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 79,553 inhabitants. The county was created 197 years ago in 1827. Its county seat is Greenfield.

There are 11 city/town in Hancock County, IN. The largest city of Hancock County is McCordsville with a population of 7,750. Other cities include, Eden population 4,577, Fortville population 4,220, Cleveland population 3,376, New Palestine population 2,656


McCordsville, Town in Vernon Township, Hancock County, Indiana, United States


Eden, Unincorporated community Hancock County, Indiana


Fortville, Town in Indiana, United States

Located just east of Indianapolis, Hancock County contains several small cities and towns that provide a slice of Midwestern Americana.


As the county seat, Greenfield is the largest city with around 20,000 residents. It contains historic districts like Riley Old Home and Underground Railroad area. Greenfield also hosts the Riley Festival every October.


Fortville lies along the Big Blue River north of Indianapolis with about 4,000 residents. The downtown is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and contains shops and eateries. Jubilee Days in June celebrate the town's heritage.


Originally a Quaker settlement, Shirley has around 800 residents today. The Shirley Historical Museum chronicles the town's past. Locals enjoyregressor car shows and auctions downtown during community events.


Wilkinson is a small incorporated town along the Big Blue River with around 225 residents. Downtown spans just a few blocks along Main Street but contains historical buildings now home to shops and cafes.

New Palestine

Located south of Fortville, New Palestine has around 2,000 residents. Sugar Creek flows through town which hosts events like the annual New Palestine Blues & BBQ festival each August.

Hancock County's towns provide wholesome slices of Americana just beyond Indianapolis, whether enjoying festivals, antique stores, or simply small town living at its finest.

All Hancock County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Hancock County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Carrollton Unincorporated community in Indiana, United States 596
Cleveland City in Indiana, USA 3,376
Eden Unincorporated community Hancock County, Indiana 4,577
Fortville Town in Indiana, United States 4,220
Greenfield City in Indiana, United States; county seat of Hancock County 731
McCordsville Town in Vernon Township, Hancock County, Indiana, United States 7,750
New Palestine Town of the United States 2,656
Riley Human settlement in Vigo County, Indiana, United States of America 217
Shirley Town in Indiana, USA 906
Spring Lake Town in Hancock County, Indiana 231
Wilkinson Town in Indiana, United States 451

County Cities on Map (11)

Indiana Counties (92)

Marion County (966,183) Lake County (487,536) Allen County (382,187) Hamilton County (344,238) Saint Joseph County (271,484) Elkhart County (206,161) Tippecanoe County (196,115) Vanderburgh County (182,447) Hendricks County (173,251) Porter County (170,980) Johnson County (160,607) Monroe County (148,219) Madison County (129,681) Clark County (119,266) Delaware County (113,454) LaPorte County (109,663) Vigo County (106,608) Bartholomew County (84,447) Howard County (82,732) Hancock County (79,553) Kosciusko County (78,988) Floyd County (78,936) Morgan County (70,707) Boone County (69,347) Wayne County (65,778) Grant County (65,225) Warrick County (63,269) Dearborn County (49,824) Henry County (48,033) Noble County (47,832) Marshall County (46,108) Lawrence County (45,496) Shelby County (44,871) Jackson County (44,222) DeKalb County (43,670) Dubois County (42,542) Harrison County (40,682) LaGrange County (40,119) Montgomery County (38,365) Putnam County (37,469) Cass County (37,388) Knox County (36,522) Huntington County (36,395) Adams County (35,839) Miami County (35,328) Steuben County (34,831) Whitley County (34,378) Gibson County (33,825) Daviess County (33,505) Jasper County (33,440) Clinton County (32,206) Greene County (32,203) Jefferson County (32,110) Wabash County (30,784) Ripley County (28,448) Washington County (28,213) Wells County (28,142) Jennings County (27,515) Decatur County (26,584) Clay County (26,246) Posey County (25,275) Randolph County (24,191) White County (24,165) Scott County (23,788) Starke County (23,049) Fayette County (22,892) Franklin County (22,761) Owen County (20,833) Sullivan County (20,578) Jay County (20,416) Carroll County (20,228) Spencer County (20,225) Fulton County (20,018) Orange County (19,651) Perry County (19,154) Parke County (16,871) Rush County (16,649) Fountain County (16,511) Vermillion County (15,329) Tipton County (15,227) Brown County (15,112) Newton County (13,907) Pulaski County (12,388) Pike County (12,378) Blackford County (11,782) Switzerland County (10,724) Crawford County (10,629) Martin County (10,079) Benton County (8,741) Warren County (8,194) Union County (7,119) Ohio County (5,892)