Cities & Towns in Harrison County, IN

Harrison County, county in Indiana, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 40,682 inhabitants. The county was created 215 years ago in 1808. Its county seat is Corydon.

There are 9 city/town in Harrison County, IN. The largest city of Harrison County is Corydon with a population of 3,181. Other cities include, Palmyra population 1,433, Lanesville population 566, Elizabeth population 208, Crandall population 149


Corydon, Town in Indiana


Palmyra, Town in Indiana, United States


Lanesville, City in Harrison County, Indiana, United States of America

Harrison County is located in southern Indiana along the Ohio River. The county seat is Corydon, which served as Indiana's first state capital from 1816 to 1825. Here are some key details about the cities and towns in Harrison County:


  • Corydon is the largest city in Harrison County with a population of around 3,000.
  • Historic attractions include the Old State Capitol Building, which housed Indiana's first state government, and the Constitution Elm, where delegates drafted Indiana's first state constitution in 1816.
  • Retail establishments and restaurants line the historic downtown area along Main Street.


  • With a population of around 800, Lanesville is a small farming community near the Harrison-Crawford State Forest.
  • The town hosts the annual Lanesville Heritage Weekend in September with crafts, food, and demonstrations of pioneer life skills.


  • Located along the Ohio River, Elizabeth is home to about 500 residents.
  • The town hosts the popular Elizabeth Frolics festival each April with carnival rides, games, and food stands.

New Amsterdam

  • This tiny Ohio River town has a population of under 100 residents.
  • The historic New Amsterdam Ferry provides passage across the river connecting Indiana to Kentucky.

New Middletown

  • Another small town of around 100 residents, New Middletown grew around a shipping port on the Ohio River.
  • The New Middletown Flatboaters' Reunion celebrates the town's flatboat shipping heritage.

So in summary, Harrison County is a historic southern Indiana county dotted with small towns, yet still influenced by its early 19th century role as Indiana's first state capital in Corydon. The cities and towns each celebrate their unique culture and heritage through local festivals and attractions.

All Harrison County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Harrison County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Corydon Town in Indiana 3,181
Crandall Town of the United States 149
Elizabeth Town in Harrison County, Indiana, United States 208
Laconia Town 56
Lanesville City in Harrison County, Indiana, United States of America 566
Mauckport Human settlement in Indiana, United States of America 85
New Amsterdam Town of the United States 28
New Middletown Human settlement in Harrison County, Indiana, United States of America 87
Palmyra Town in Indiana, United States 1,433

County Cities on Map (9)

Indiana Counties (92)

Marion County (966,183) Lake County (487,536) Allen County (382,187) Hamilton County (344,238) Saint Joseph County (271,484) Elkhart County (206,161) Tippecanoe County (196,115) Vanderburgh County (182,447) Hendricks County (173,251) Porter County (170,980) Johnson County (160,607) Monroe County (148,219) Madison County (129,681) Clark County (119,266) Delaware County (113,454) LaPorte County (109,663) Vigo County (106,608) Bartholomew County (84,447) Howard County (82,732) Hancock County (79,553) Kosciusko County (78,988) Floyd County (78,936) Morgan County (70,707) Boone County (69,347) Wayne County (65,778) Grant County (65,225) Warrick County (63,269) Dearborn County (49,824) Henry County (48,033) Noble County (47,832) Marshall County (46,108) Lawrence County (45,496) Shelby County (44,871) Jackson County (44,222) DeKalb County (43,670) Dubois County (42,542) Harrison County (40,682) LaGrange County (40,119) Montgomery County (38,365) Putnam County (37,469) Cass County (37,388) Knox County (36,522) Huntington County (36,395) Adams County (35,839) Miami County (35,328) Steuben County (34,831) Whitley County (34,378) Gibson County (33,825) Daviess County (33,505) Jasper County (33,440) Clinton County (32,206) Greene County (32,203) Jefferson County (32,110) Wabash County (30,784) Ripley County (28,448) Washington County (28,213) Wells County (28,142) Jennings County (27,515) Decatur County (26,584) Clay County (26,246) Posey County (25,275) Randolph County (24,191) White County (24,165) Scott County (23,788) Starke County (23,049) Fayette County (22,892) Franklin County (22,761) Owen County (20,833) Sullivan County (20,578) Jay County (20,416) Carroll County (20,228) Spencer County (20,225) Fulton County (20,018) Orange County (19,651) Perry County (19,154) Parke County (16,871) Rush County (16,649) Fountain County (16,511) Vermillion County (15,329) Tipton County (15,227) Brown County (15,112) Newton County (13,907) Pulaski County (12,388) Pike County (12,378) Blackford County (11,782) Switzerland County (10,724) Crawford County (10,629) Martin County (10,079) Benton County (8,741) Warren County (8,194) Union County (7,119) Ohio County (5,892)