Cities & Towns in Lawrence County, IN

Lawrence County, county in Indiana, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 45,496 inhabitants. The county was created 206 years ago in 1818. Its county seat is Bedford.

There are 9 city/town in Lawrence County, IN. The largest city of Lawrence County is Shawswick with a population of 20,173. Other cities include, Bedford population 13,233, Mitchell population 4,269, Redding population 4,262, Guthrie population 1,401


Shawswick, Township in Lawrence County, Indiana


Bedford, Town in Lawrence County, Indiana, United States


Mitchell, City in Marion Township, Lawrence County, Indiana, United States

Lawrence County is located in southern Indiana between Bloomington and Louisville. The county has a population of around 45,000 residents. Some notable cities and towns in Lawrence County include:


Bedford is the largest city and county seat of Lawrence County with around 13,000 residents. It serves as an industrial and educational hub, home to Bedford North Lawrence High School. The Downtown Bedford Historic District has unique architecture.


Mitchell is a small city located along the West Fork of the White River with around 4,400 residents. It provides outdoor recreation opportunities like Spring Mill State Park. The Mitchell Opera House is a historic landmark.


Oolitic is a limestone-producing town with around 1,200 residents. It features pioneer-era homes and buildings made from local limestone. The Oolitic Railroad Depot is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.


Heltonville is a very small unincorporated town with around 600 residents. It has a historic downtown district along with Heltonville Community Park.

In summary, Bedford and Mitchell serve as economic and commercial hubs, while smaller towns like Oolitic and Heltonville retain the mining heritage and charm of Lawrence County.

All Lawrence County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Lawrence County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Avoca Unincorporated town in Marshall Township, Lawrence County, Indiana, United States of America 583
Bedford Town in Lawrence County, Indiana, United States 13,233
Bono Unincorporated community in Lawrence County, Indiana 827
Erie Unincorporated community in Lawrence County, Indiana 531
Guthrie Unincorporated community in Lawrence County, Indiana 1,401
Mitchell City in Marion Township, Lawrence County, Indiana, United States 4,269
Oolitic City in Lawrence County, Indiana, United States of America 1,138
Redding Human settlement in United States of America 4,262
Shawswick Township in Lawrence County, Indiana 20,173

County Cities on Map (9)

Indiana Counties (92)

Marion County (966,183) Lake County (487,536) Allen County (382,187) Hamilton County (344,238) Saint Joseph County (271,484) Elkhart County (206,161) Tippecanoe County (196,115) Vanderburgh County (182,447) Hendricks County (173,251) Porter County (170,980) Johnson County (160,607) Monroe County (148,219) Madison County (129,681) Clark County (119,266) Delaware County (113,454) LaPorte County (109,663) Vigo County (106,608) Bartholomew County (84,447) Howard County (82,732) Hancock County (79,553) Kosciusko County (78,988) Floyd County (78,936) Morgan County (70,707) Boone County (69,347) Wayne County (65,778) Grant County (65,225) Warrick County (63,269) Dearborn County (49,824) Henry County (48,033) Noble County (47,832) Marshall County (46,108) Lawrence County (45,496) Shelby County (44,871) Jackson County (44,222) DeKalb County (43,670) Dubois County (42,542) Harrison County (40,682) LaGrange County (40,119) Montgomery County (38,365) Putnam County (37,469) Cass County (37,388) Knox County (36,522) Huntington County (36,395) Adams County (35,839) Miami County (35,328) Steuben County (34,831) Whitley County (34,378) Gibson County (33,825) Daviess County (33,505) Jasper County (33,440) Clinton County (32,206) Greene County (32,203) Jefferson County (32,110) Wabash County (30,784) Ripley County (28,448) Washington County (28,213) Wells County (28,142) Jennings County (27,515) Decatur County (26,584) Clay County (26,246) Posey County (25,275) Randolph County (24,191) White County (24,165) Scott County (23,788) Starke County (23,049) Fayette County (22,892) Franklin County (22,761) Owen County (20,833) Sullivan County (20,578) Jay County (20,416) Carroll County (20,228) Spencer County (20,225) Fulton County (20,018) Orange County (19,651) Perry County (19,154) Parke County (16,871) Rush County (16,649) Fountain County (16,511) Vermillion County (15,329) Tipton County (15,227) Brown County (15,112) Newton County (13,907) Pulaski County (12,388) Pike County (12,378) Blackford County (11,782) Switzerland County (10,724) Crawford County (10,629) Martin County (10,079) Benton County (8,741) Warren County (8,194) Union County (7,119) Ohio County (5,892)