Cities & Towns in Surry County, NC

Surry County, county in North Carolina, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 71,683 inhabitants. The county was created 254 years ago in 1770. Its county seat is Dobson.

There are 7 city/town in Surry County, NC. The largest city of Surry County is Mount Airy with a population of 10,175. Other cities include, Elkin population 4,001, Flat Rock population 1,556, Dobson population 1,534, Toast population 1,450

Mount Airy
Mount Airy

Mount Airy, City in Surry County, North Carolina, United States


Elkin, Town in Surry and Wilkes counties in North Carolina, United States

Flat Rock

Flat Rock, Township in Surry County, North Carolina

Nestled in northwestern North Carolina, Surry County is home to a collection of small historic towns that embrace traditional Southern charm and rural pace of life. Though not largely populated, Surry County's cities serve as hubs of community life in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Some of the most notable towns include Mount Airy, Elkin, Pilot Mountain, Dobson, and Surry.

Mount Airy is renowned as the inspiration behind the idyllic Mayberry from The Andy Griffith Show. Elkin lies along the Yadkin River and contains several wineries. Pilot Mountain is a popular recreational draw with its iconic knob. Dobson serves as the county seat and center of local government. And Surry provides stunning views from atop Surry County Community College's campus.

Beyond these population centers, Surry County also includes bucolic villages like Ararat and quaint communities like Toast that seem frozen in a simpler time. Surry County's small-town charm and breathtaking natural beauty make it a hidden gem in northwestern North Carolina.

All Surry County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Surry County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Dobson Human settlement in Surry County, North Carolina, United States of America 1,534
Elkin Town in Surry and Wilkes counties in North Carolina, United States 4,001
Flat Rock Township in Surry County, North Carolina 1,556
Mount Airy City in Surry County, North Carolina, United States 10,175
Pilot Mountain City in Piedmont Triad, North Carolina, United States of America 1,408
Toast Township in Surry County, North Carolina 1,450
White Plains Township in Surry County, North Carolina 1,074

County Cities on Map (7)

North Carolina Counties (100)

Wake County (1,132,271) Mecklenburg County (1,128,945) Guilford County (540,521) Forsyth County (383,843) Cumberland County (336,364) Durham County (327,306) Buncombe County (263,477) Union County (244,562) New Hanover County (236,613) Gaston County (226,568) Cabarrus County (221,479) Johnston County (216,246) Onslow County (203,943) Iredell County (185,770) Pitt County (182,924) Alamance County (171,346) Davidson County (169,234) Catawba County (160,307) Orange County (149,077) Brunswick County (149,039) Randolph County (144,557) Rowan County (142,495) Harnett County (137,058) Robeson County (129,999) Wayne County (123,967) Henderson County (118,445) Moore County (103,352) Craven County (101,233) Cleveland County (99,035) Nash County (94,859) Rockingham County (91,285) Burke County (90,418) Lincoln County (88,097) Caldwell County (82,100) Wilson County (81,979) Chatham County (75,748) Franklin County (71,859) Surry County (71,683) Carteret County (69,558) Wilkes County (68,043) Rutherford County (67,076) Pender County (64,671) Sampson County (63,382) Stanly County (63,239) Haywood County (62,972) Lee County (62,353) Granville County (60,486) Duplin County (58,794) Watauga County (56,441) Hoke County (55,830) Lenoir County (55,720) Columbus County (54,754) Edgecombe County (50,829) Halifax County (49,479) Beaufort County (47,073) McDowell County (45,782) Stokes County (45,743) Vance County (44,718) Richmond County (44,332) Jackson County (44,033) Davie County (43,286) Pasquotank County (40,372) Person County (39,925) Yadkin County (37,625) Dare County (37,547) Alexander County (37,441) Macon County (35,994) Scotland County (34,637) Transylvania County (34,498) Bladen County (32,911) Cherokee County (29,073) Currituck County (29,052) Montgomery County (27,238) Ashe County (27,166) Anson County (24,097) Hertford County (23,108) Caswell County (22,443) Martin County (22,178) Madison County (21,740) Polk County (21,030) Greene County (20,928) Warren County (19,522) Northampton County (19,088) Bertie County (18,712) Yancey County (18,099) Avery County (17,571) Mitchell County (14,881) Swain County (14,179) Chowan County (13,815) Perquimans County (13,667) Pamlico County (12,715) Clay County (11,505) Washington County (11,485) Gates County (11,464) Alleghany County (11,194) Camden County (10,984) Jones County (9,250) Graham County (8,474) Hyde County (4,843) Tyrrell County (3,774)