Cities & Towns in Chatham County, NC

Chatham County, county in North Carolina, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 75,748 inhabitants. The county was created 253 years ago in 1771. Its county seat is Pittsboro.

There are 6 city/town in Chatham County, NC. The largest city of Chatham County is Siler City with a population of 8,415. Other cities include, Farmville population 4,747, Pittsboro population 4,419, Fearrington Village population 2,339, Fearrington population 869

Siler City
Siler City

Siler City, Town in western Chatham County, North Carolina, United States


Farmville, Town in Pitt County, North Carolina


Pittsboro, Town in North Carolina, United States

Chatham County is located in the Piedmont region of central North Carolina. Its largest city and county seat is Pittsboro. Here's an overview of the key cities and towns that make up Chatham County:


Pittsboro is the largest town in Chatham County with a population of around 4,000 residents. It serves as the county seat and is located along the Haw River. Some landmarks in Pittsboro include the Chatham County Courthouse, Chatham Mills, and the House in the Horseshoe historic site. The town has a quaint downtown with local shops and restaurants.

Siler City

Siler City is located in southwest Chatham County near the intersection of US 64 and NC 902. It has a population of around 8,000 residents. Siler City hosts several festivals annually like the Peach Festival and Multicultural Festival. The city has a Main Street downtown district lined with historic buildings now occupied by shops and eateries.


Goldston is a small rural town in northern Chatham County along US 421 with a population of around 250 residents. It contains a historic downtown district with buildings dating back to the late 1800s and early 1900s. Locals enjoy fishing and boating along the Rocky River which runs near Goldston.


Moncure is an unincorporated community southwest of Pittsboro near the Chatham-Lee county border. It was formerly home to a large lumber and textile mill. Today Moncure has a small downtown area with railroad tracks running through it and a population of around 600 residents.


Fearrington Village is a planned community southwest of Pittsboro near U.S. 15-501. It features high-end shops, restaurants, a spa, and a country inn. Fearrington offers a mix of residential and commercial development in a picturesque rural setting.

All Chatham County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Chatham County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Farmville Town in Pitt County, North Carolina 4,747
Fearrington Township in Chatham County, North Carolina 869
Fearrington Village Township in Chatham County, North Carolina 2,339
Goldston City in Chatham County, North Carolina, United States of America 305
Pittsboro Town in North Carolina, United States 4,419
Siler City Town in western Chatham County, North Carolina, United States 8,415

County Cities on Map (6)

North Carolina Counties (100)

Wake County (1,132,271) Mecklenburg County (1,128,945) Guilford County (540,521) Forsyth County (383,843) Cumberland County (336,364) Durham County (327,306) Buncombe County (263,477) Union County (244,562) New Hanover County (236,613) Gaston County (226,568) Cabarrus County (221,479) Johnston County (216,246) Onslow County (203,943) Iredell County (185,770) Pitt County (182,924) Alamance County (171,346) Davidson County (169,234) Catawba County (160,307) Orange County (149,077) Brunswick County (149,039) Randolph County (144,557) Rowan County (142,495) Harnett County (137,058) Robeson County (129,999) Wayne County (123,967) Henderson County (118,445) Moore County (103,352) Craven County (101,233) Cleveland County (99,035) Nash County (94,859) Rockingham County (91,285) Burke County (90,418) Lincoln County (88,097) Caldwell County (82,100) Wilson County (81,979) Chatham County (75,748) Franklin County (71,859) Surry County (71,683) Carteret County (69,558) Wilkes County (68,043) Rutherford County (67,076) Pender County (64,671) Sampson County (63,382) Stanly County (63,239) Haywood County (62,972) Lee County (62,353) Granville County (60,486) Duplin County (58,794) Watauga County (56,441) Hoke County (55,830) Lenoir County (55,720) Columbus County (54,754) Edgecombe County (50,829) Halifax County (49,479) Beaufort County (47,073) McDowell County (45,782) Stokes County (45,743) Vance County (44,718) Richmond County (44,332) Jackson County (44,033) Davie County (43,286) Pasquotank County (40,372) Person County (39,925) Yadkin County (37,625) Dare County (37,547) Alexander County (37,441) Macon County (35,994) Scotland County (34,637) Transylvania County (34,498) Bladen County (32,911) Cherokee County (29,073) Currituck County (29,052) Montgomery County (27,238) Ashe County (27,166) Anson County (24,097) Hertford County (23,108) Caswell County (22,443) Martin County (22,178) Madison County (21,740) Polk County (21,030) Greene County (20,928) Warren County (19,522) Northampton County (19,088) Bertie County (18,712) Yancey County (18,099) Avery County (17,571) Mitchell County (14,881) Swain County (14,179) Chowan County (13,815) Perquimans County (13,667) Pamlico County (12,715) Clay County (11,505) Washington County (11,485) Gates County (11,464) Alleghany County (11,194) Camden County (10,984) Jones County (9,250) Graham County (8,474) Hyde County (4,843) Tyrrell County (3,774)