Cities & Towns in Franklin County, NC

Franklin County, county in North Carolina, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 71,859 inhabitants. The county was created 245 years ago in 1779. Its county seat is Louisburg.

There are 4 city/town in Franklin County, NC. The largest city of Franklin County is Louisburg with a population of 3,694. Other cities include, Franklinton population 2,312, Youngsville population 1,413 and Bunn population 401


Louisburg, Town in Franklin County, North Carolina


Franklinton, Township in Franklin County, North Carolina


Youngsville, Human settlement in Franklin County, North Carolina, United States of America

Nestled in the piedmont region of North Carolina, Franklin County is home to several small towns and communities. Here are some of the notable cities and towns in Franklin County:


Louisburg is the largest city and county seat of Franklin County with around 3,500 residents. It was founded in 1779 and is home to Louisburg College, a private Methodist-affiliated college. Louisburg has a quaint historic downtown with shops and restaurants.


Franklinton is located in the center of Franklin County and has about 2,000 residents. It was established in the late 1700s as the second county seat. Franklinton hosts several annual events such as the Harvest Festival and Christmas parade.


Founded in the early 1800s, Youngsville is a small town with around 1,000 residents. It hosts the annual Pumpkin Festival in October and has several historic sites such as the R.B. Whitley House.


Bunn is a tiny town of about 350 people. It was originally established as a depot on the Raleigh and Gaston Railroad in the 1890s. Bunn hosts an annual Rabbit Ridge Festival celebrating its history.

Lake Royale

Lake Royale is a census-designated place centered around the namesake lake. It has less than 2,000 year-round residents but attracts many vacationers in the summer.

Other small towns and communities in the county include Centerville, Pilot, Gold Sand, Castalia, Dunns Rock, and Wait. Franklin County captures small-town life paired with scenic landscapes.

All Franklin County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Franklin County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Bunn Human settlement in Franklin County, North Carolina, United States of America 401
Franklinton Township in Franklin County, North Carolina 2,312
Louisburg Town in Franklin County, North Carolina 3,694
Youngsville Human settlement in Franklin County, North Carolina, United States of America 1,413

County Cities on Map (4)

North Carolina Counties (100)

Wake County (1,132,271) Mecklenburg County (1,128,945) Guilford County (540,521) Forsyth County (383,843) Cumberland County (336,364) Durham County (327,306) Buncombe County (263,477) Union County (244,562) New Hanover County (236,613) Gaston County (226,568) Cabarrus County (221,479) Johnston County (216,246) Onslow County (203,943) Iredell County (185,770) Pitt County (182,924) Alamance County (171,346) Davidson County (169,234) Catawba County (160,307) Orange County (149,077) Brunswick County (149,039) Randolph County (144,557) Rowan County (142,495) Harnett County (137,058) Robeson County (129,999) Wayne County (123,967) Henderson County (118,445) Moore County (103,352) Craven County (101,233) Cleveland County (99,035) Nash County (94,859) Rockingham County (91,285) Burke County (90,418) Lincoln County (88,097) Caldwell County (82,100) Wilson County (81,979) Chatham County (75,748) Franklin County (71,859) Surry County (71,683) Carteret County (69,558) Wilkes County (68,043) Rutherford County (67,076) Pender County (64,671) Sampson County (63,382) Stanly County (63,239) Haywood County (62,972) Lee County (62,353) Granville County (60,486) Duplin County (58,794) Watauga County (56,441) Hoke County (55,830) Lenoir County (55,720) Columbus County (54,754) Edgecombe County (50,829) Halifax County (49,479) Beaufort County (47,073) McDowell County (45,782) Stokes County (45,743) Vance County (44,718) Richmond County (44,332) Jackson County (44,033) Davie County (43,286) Pasquotank County (40,372) Person County (39,925) Yadkin County (37,625) Dare County (37,547) Alexander County (37,441) Macon County (35,994) Scotland County (34,637) Transylvania County (34,498) Bladen County (32,911) Cherokee County (29,073) Currituck County (29,052) Montgomery County (27,238) Ashe County (27,166) Anson County (24,097) Hertford County (23,108) Caswell County (22,443) Martin County (22,178) Madison County (21,740) Polk County (21,030) Greene County (20,928) Warren County (19,522) Northampton County (19,088) Bertie County (18,712) Yancey County (18,099) Avery County (17,571) Mitchell County (14,881) Swain County (14,179) Chowan County (13,815) Perquimans County (13,667) Pamlico County (12,715) Clay County (11,505) Washington County (11,485) Gates County (11,464) Alleghany County (11,194) Camden County (10,984) Jones County (9,250) Graham County (8,474) Hyde County (4,843) Tyrrell County (3,774)