Cities & Towns in Watauga County, NC

Watauga County, county in North Carolina, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 56,441 inhabitants. The county was created 175 years ago in 1849. Its county seat is Boone.

There are 3 city/town in Watauga County, NC. The largest city of Watauga County is Boone with a population of 20,003. Other cities include, Blowing Rock population 1,316 and Beech Mountain population 320


Boone, City in Iowa, United States

Blowing Rock
Blowing Rock

Blowing Rock, Town in North Carolina, United States

Beech Mountain

Beech Mountain, Human settlement in Avery County, North Carolina, United States of America

Watauga County sits in the northwestern part of North Carolina within the Appalachian Mountains. The county has around 57,000 residents. Here are some of the notable cities and towns in Watauga County:


Boone serves as the largest city and county seat of Watauga County. Home to Appalachian State University, Boone has around 19,000 residents. The lively college town has restaurants, shops, music venues and outdoor activities.

Blowing Rock

Blowing Rock is a quaint mountain town located along the Blue Ridge Parkway with around 1,300 residents. The town has upscale shops, restaurants with mountain views and a picturesque downtown.

Seven Devils

Seven Devils is a small town near the Tennessee border named for the seven peaks surrounding the town. With around 200 permanent residents, Seven Devils attracts visitors for skiing, hiking and mountain vistas.

Beech Mountain

Beech Mountain is a high elevation town along the Blue Ridge Parkway that is home to Beech Mountain Ski Resort. The town has around 300 permanent residents.


Foscoe is an unincorporated community southwest of Boone near Watauga Lake. The rural town has under 200 residents and offers water recreation and mountain scenery.

Overall, Watauga County's small towns and communities are centered around outdoor recreation in the High Country. Boone provides an energetic college town atmosphere. The county is a magnet for skiing, hiking, mountain vistas and Appalachian culture.

All Watauga County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Watauga County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Beech Mountain Human settlement in Avery County, North Carolina, United States of America 320
Blowing Rock Town in North Carolina, United States 1,316
Boone City in Iowa, United States 20,003

County Cities on Map (3)

North Carolina Counties (100)

Wake County (1,132,271) Mecklenburg County (1,128,945) Guilford County (540,521) Forsyth County (383,843) Cumberland County (336,364) Durham County (327,306) Buncombe County (263,477) Union County (244,562) New Hanover County (236,613) Gaston County (226,568) Cabarrus County (221,479) Johnston County (216,246) Onslow County (203,943) Iredell County (185,770) Pitt County (182,924) Alamance County (171,346) Davidson County (169,234) Catawba County (160,307) Orange County (149,077) Brunswick County (149,039) Randolph County (144,557) Rowan County (142,495) Harnett County (137,058) Robeson County (129,999) Wayne County (123,967) Henderson County (118,445) Moore County (103,352) Craven County (101,233) Cleveland County (99,035) Nash County (94,859) Rockingham County (91,285) Burke County (90,418) Lincoln County (88,097) Caldwell County (82,100) Wilson County (81,979) Chatham County (75,748) Franklin County (71,859) Surry County (71,683) Carteret County (69,558) Wilkes County (68,043) Rutherford County (67,076) Pender County (64,671) Sampson County (63,382) Stanly County (63,239) Haywood County (62,972) Lee County (62,353) Granville County (60,486) Duplin County (58,794) Watauga County (56,441) Hoke County (55,830) Lenoir County (55,720) Columbus County (54,754) Edgecombe County (50,829) Halifax County (49,479) Beaufort County (47,073) McDowell County (45,782) Stokes County (45,743) Vance County (44,718) Richmond County (44,332) Jackson County (44,033) Davie County (43,286) Pasquotank County (40,372) Person County (39,925) Yadkin County (37,625) Dare County (37,547) Alexander County (37,441) Macon County (35,994) Scotland County (34,637) Transylvania County (34,498) Bladen County (32,911) Cherokee County (29,073) Currituck County (29,052) Montgomery County (27,238) Ashe County (27,166) Anson County (24,097) Hertford County (23,108) Caswell County (22,443) Martin County (22,178) Madison County (21,740) Polk County (21,030) Greene County (20,928) Warren County (19,522) Northampton County (19,088) Bertie County (18,712) Yancey County (18,099) Avery County (17,571) Mitchell County (14,881) Swain County (14,179) Chowan County (13,815) Perquimans County (13,667) Pamlico County (12,715) Clay County (11,505) Washington County (11,485) Gates County (11,464) Alleghany County (11,194) Camden County (10,984) Jones County (9,250) Graham County (8,474) Hyde County (4,843) Tyrrell County (3,774)