Cities & Towns in Jackson County, NC

Jackson County, county in North Carolina, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 44,033 inhabitants. The county was created 173 years ago in 1851. Its county seat is Sylva.

There are 4 city/town in Jackson County, NC. The largest city of Jackson County is Cullowhee with a population of 6,228. Other cities include, Sylva population 2,739, Webster population 386 and Dillsboro population 248


Cullowhee, Township in Jackson County, North Carolina


Sylva, Human settlement in Jackson County, North Carolina, United States of America


Webster, City in North Carolina, US

Jackson County is located in the southwest corner of North Carolina. Some of the notable cities and towns in Jackson County include:

Sylva - Sylva is the largest town and county seat of Jackson County. It had a population of 2,735 as of 2020. Sylva was founded in 1851 near Scotts Creek. Key attractions include the Jackson County Main Library and the historic Jackson County Courthouse.

Dillsboro - Dillsboro is a small town located north of Sylva along the Tuckasegee River. It had a population of 244 as of 2020. The town has an artistic vibe and many studios and galleries. The Dillsboro Chocolate Factory is a popular stop.

Cullowhee - Cullowhee is a census-designated place that is home to Western Carolina University. The university has around 12,000 students and is the largest employer in the county. Cullowhee had a population of 6,360 as of 2020.

Cashiers - Cashiers is an unincorporated village located in southern Jackson County near the South Carolina border. It is a vacation and second home spot known for summer estates and golf communities situated in the Blue Ridge Mountains.

Glenville - Glenville is an unincorporated community located along the Little Tennessee River. It had a population of 507 as of 2020.

In summary, Jackson County is home to several small mountain towns and communities nestled in the scenic Blue Ridge Mountains of southwestern North Carolina. The college town of Cullowhee and Sylva, the county seat, are the population centers.

All Jackson County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Jackson County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Cullowhee Township in Jackson County, North Carolina 6,228
Dillsboro Township in Jackson County, North Carolina 248
Sylva Human settlement in Jackson County, North Carolina, United States of America 2,739
Webster City in North Carolina, US 386

County Cities on Map (4)

North Carolina Counties (100)

Wake County (1,132,271) Mecklenburg County (1,128,945) Guilford County (540,521) Forsyth County (383,843) Cumberland County (336,364) Durham County (327,306) Buncombe County (263,477) Union County (244,562) New Hanover County (236,613) Gaston County (226,568) Cabarrus County (221,479) Johnston County (216,246) Onslow County (203,943) Iredell County (185,770) Pitt County (182,924) Alamance County (171,346) Davidson County (169,234) Catawba County (160,307) Orange County (149,077) Brunswick County (149,039) Randolph County (144,557) Rowan County (142,495) Harnett County (137,058) Robeson County (129,999) Wayne County (123,967) Henderson County (118,445) Moore County (103,352) Craven County (101,233) Cleveland County (99,035) Nash County (94,859) Rockingham County (91,285) Burke County (90,418) Lincoln County (88,097) Caldwell County (82,100) Wilson County (81,979) Chatham County (75,748) Franklin County (71,859) Surry County (71,683) Carteret County (69,558) Wilkes County (68,043) Rutherford County (67,076) Pender County (64,671) Sampson County (63,382) Stanly County (63,239) Haywood County (62,972) Lee County (62,353) Granville County (60,486) Duplin County (58,794) Watauga County (56,441) Hoke County (55,830) Lenoir County (55,720) Columbus County (54,754) Edgecombe County (50,829) Halifax County (49,479) Beaufort County (47,073) McDowell County (45,782) Stokes County (45,743) Vance County (44,718) Richmond County (44,332) Jackson County (44,033) Davie County (43,286) Pasquotank County (40,372) Person County (39,925) Yadkin County (37,625) Dare County (37,547) Alexander County (37,441) Macon County (35,994) Scotland County (34,637) Transylvania County (34,498) Bladen County (32,911) Cherokee County (29,073) Currituck County (29,052) Montgomery County (27,238) Ashe County (27,166) Anson County (24,097) Hertford County (23,108) Caswell County (22,443) Martin County (22,178) Madison County (21,740) Polk County (21,030) Greene County (20,928) Warren County (19,522) Northampton County (19,088) Bertie County (18,712) Yancey County (18,099) Avery County (17,571) Mitchell County (14,881) Swain County (14,179) Chowan County (13,815) Perquimans County (13,667) Pamlico County (12,715) Clay County (11,505) Washington County (11,485) Gates County (11,464) Alleghany County (11,194) Camden County (10,984) Jones County (9,250) Graham County (8,474) Hyde County (4,843) Tyrrell County (3,774)