Cities & Towns in Lee County, NC

Lee County, county in North Carolina, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 62,353 inhabitants. The county was created 117 years ago in 1907. Its county seat is Sanford.

There are 1 city/town in Lee County, NC. The largest city of Lee County is Sanford with a population of 30,361.


Sanford, City in Lee County, North Carolina, United States of America

Lee County is located in central North Carolina and has a population of around 60,000 residents. The county seat and largest city is Sanford. Here is an overview of the cities and towns in Lee County:


Sanford is the largest city in Lee County with a population of around 29,000 residents. It serves as the county seat and is home to the Lee County Courthouse and other government offices. Sanford sits along the Deep River and was founded in the 1870s. It originally thrived as a railroad hub and tobacco market. Today, Sanford is a commercial and industrial center in the region.


Broadway is a small town located northwest of Sanford along US Highway 421. It has a population of around 1,000 residents. The downtown area of Broadway contains several historic buildings and antiques shops. The Broadway Historic District is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The town hosts several community events each year.


Jonesboro is an unincorporated community situated east of Sanford. It has a population of around 1,000 residents. Jonesboro contains a historic downtown area along US Highway 15-501. The Jonesboro Historic District contains homes and buildings from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Jonesboro is home to several annual festivals and community events.


Carthage is a small town west of Sanford with a population of around 2,500 residents. It contains a historic courthouse built in 1907 which serves as a museum. The town hosts several noteworthy events each year including an annual buggy festival and a collard festival. Carthage also contains antique shops and restaurants downtown.

Other small communities and unincorporated areas in Lee County include Brickhaven, Tramway, and Greenwood among others. The county contains a mix of rural farms, forests, and small towns. It continues to grow in population while maintaining its heritage and charm.

All Lee County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Lee County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Sanford City in Lee County, North Carolina, United States of America 30,361

County Cities on Map (1)

North Carolina Counties (100)

Wake County (1,132,271) Mecklenburg County (1,128,945) Guilford County (540,521) Forsyth County (383,843) Cumberland County (336,364) Durham County (327,306) Buncombe County (263,477) Union County (244,562) New Hanover County (236,613) Gaston County (226,568) Cabarrus County (221,479) Johnston County (216,246) Onslow County (203,943) Iredell County (185,770) Pitt County (182,924) Alamance County (171,346) Davidson County (169,234) Catawba County (160,307) Orange County (149,077) Brunswick County (149,039) Randolph County (144,557) Rowan County (142,495) Harnett County (137,058) Robeson County (129,999) Wayne County (123,967) Henderson County (118,445) Moore County (103,352) Craven County (101,233) Cleveland County (99,035) Nash County (94,859) Rockingham County (91,285) Burke County (90,418) Lincoln County (88,097) Caldwell County (82,100) Wilson County (81,979) Chatham County (75,748) Franklin County (71,859) Surry County (71,683) Carteret County (69,558) Wilkes County (68,043) Rutherford County (67,076) Pender County (64,671) Sampson County (63,382) Stanly County (63,239) Haywood County (62,972) Lee County (62,353) Granville County (60,486) Duplin County (58,794) Watauga County (56,441) Hoke County (55,830) Lenoir County (55,720) Columbus County (54,754) Edgecombe County (50,829) Halifax County (49,479) Beaufort County (47,073) McDowell County (45,782) Stokes County (45,743) Vance County (44,718) Richmond County (44,332) Jackson County (44,033) Davie County (43,286) Pasquotank County (40,372) Person County (39,925) Yadkin County (37,625) Dare County (37,547) Alexander County (37,441) Macon County (35,994) Scotland County (34,637) Transylvania County (34,498) Bladen County (32,911) Cherokee County (29,073) Currituck County (29,052) Montgomery County (27,238) Ashe County (27,166) Anson County (24,097) Hertford County (23,108) Caswell County (22,443) Martin County (22,178) Madison County (21,740) Polk County (21,030) Greene County (20,928) Warren County (19,522) Northampton County (19,088) Bertie County (18,712) Yancey County (18,099) Avery County (17,571) Mitchell County (14,881) Swain County (14,179) Chowan County (13,815) Perquimans County (13,667) Pamlico County (12,715) Clay County (11,505) Washington County (11,485) Gates County (11,464) Alleghany County (11,194) Camden County (10,984) Jones County (9,250) Graham County (8,474) Hyde County (4,843) Tyrrell County (3,774)