Cities & Towns in Haywood County, NC

Haywood County, county in North Carolina, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 62,972 inhabitants. The county was created 216 years ago in 1808. Its county seat is Waynesville.

There are 6 city/town in Haywood County, NC. The largest city of Haywood County is Waynesville with a population of 10,557. Other cities include, Canton population 4,369, Lake Junaluska population 2,734, Clyde population 1,308, Maggie Valley population 1,258


Waynesville, City in North Carolina


Canton, Town in Haywood County, North Carolina, United States

Lake Junaluska
Lake Junaluska

Lake Junaluska, Census designated place

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Haywood County contains both rural mountain towns and larger cities. Here are some of the notable cities and towns located within Haywood County:


Waynesville is the largest town and county seat of Haywood County with around 10,000 residents. Located near the Great Smoky and Blue Ridge Mountains, Waynesville features charming downtown shops, restaurants, and inns.


Canton is a small town west of Waynesville with around 4,500 residents. Canton is home to the Canton Labor Day Festival and attractions like the Canton Historical Museum.


Clyde is a tiny town along the Pigeon River with around 800 residents. Main attractions include the Clyde River Park and historic Colonial Theatre downtown.

Maggie Valley

Maggie Valley is a town in the northeast part of the county surrounded by mountain scenery. This valley town has around 1,500 residents and offers outdoor recreation.

Lake Junaluska

Lake Junaluska is an unincorporated community that developed around the Methodist conference center, which hosts year-round retreats.

All Haywood County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Haywood County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Canton Town in Haywood County, North Carolina, United States 4,369
Clyde Human settlement in Haywood County, North Carolina, United States of America 1,308
Lake Junaluska Census designated place 2,734
Maggie Valley Human settlement in Haywood County, North Carolina, United States of America 1,258
Waynesville City in North Carolina 10,557
West Canton Township in Haywood County, North Carolina 1,247

County Cities on Map (6)

North Carolina Counties (100)

Wake County (1,132,271) Mecklenburg County (1,128,945) Guilford County (540,521) Forsyth County (383,843) Cumberland County (336,364) Durham County (327,306) Buncombe County (263,477) Union County (244,562) New Hanover County (236,613) Gaston County (226,568) Cabarrus County (221,479) Johnston County (216,246) Onslow County (203,943) Iredell County (185,770) Pitt County (182,924) Alamance County (171,346) Davidson County (169,234) Catawba County (160,307) Orange County (149,077) Brunswick County (149,039) Randolph County (144,557) Rowan County (142,495) Harnett County (137,058) Robeson County (129,999) Wayne County (123,967) Henderson County (118,445) Moore County (103,352) Craven County (101,233) Cleveland County (99,035) Nash County (94,859) Rockingham County (91,285) Burke County (90,418) Lincoln County (88,097) Caldwell County (82,100) Wilson County (81,979) Chatham County (75,748) Franklin County (71,859) Surry County (71,683) Carteret County (69,558) Wilkes County (68,043) Rutherford County (67,076) Pender County (64,671) Sampson County (63,382) Stanly County (63,239) Haywood County (62,972) Lee County (62,353) Granville County (60,486) Duplin County (58,794) Watauga County (56,441) Hoke County (55,830) Lenoir County (55,720) Columbus County (54,754) Edgecombe County (50,829) Halifax County (49,479) Beaufort County (47,073) McDowell County (45,782) Stokes County (45,743) Vance County (44,718) Richmond County (44,332) Jackson County (44,033) Davie County (43,286) Pasquotank County (40,372) Person County (39,925) Yadkin County (37,625) Dare County (37,547) Alexander County (37,441) Macon County (35,994) Scotland County (34,637) Transylvania County (34,498) Bladen County (32,911) Cherokee County (29,073) Currituck County (29,052) Montgomery County (27,238) Ashe County (27,166) Anson County (24,097) Hertford County (23,108) Caswell County (22,443) Martin County (22,178) Madison County (21,740) Polk County (21,030) Greene County (20,928) Warren County (19,522) Northampton County (19,088) Bertie County (18,712) Yancey County (18,099) Avery County (17,571) Mitchell County (14,881) Swain County (14,179) Chowan County (13,815) Perquimans County (13,667) Pamlico County (12,715) Clay County (11,505) Washington County (11,485) Gates County (11,464) Alleghany County (11,194) Camden County (10,984) Jones County (9,250) Graham County (8,474) Hyde County (4,843) Tyrrell County (3,774)