Cities & Towns in Hancock County, MS

Hancock County, county in Mississippi, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 48,000 inhabitants. The county was created 211 years ago in 1812. Its county seat is Bay St. Louis.

There are 5 city/town in Hancock County, MS. The largest city of Hancock County is Bay Saint Louis with a population of 14,529. Other cities include, Diamondhead population 8,058, Waveland population 6,315, Kiln population 2,238 and Pearlington population 1,332

Bay Saint Louis
Bay Saint Louis

Bay Saint Louis, City in Hancock County, Mississippi, United States of America


Diamondhead, City in Hancock County, Mississippi, United States of America


Waveland, City in Hancock County, Mississippi, United States

Hancock County is located along the Gulf Coast in southern Mississippi. The county has a population of around 45,000 residents. Here are some of the notable cities and towns located in Hancock County:

Bay St. Louis

Bay St. Louis is the county seat and largest city in Hancock County. It has a population of around 9,800 residents. Bay St. Louis is located along the coast of the Gulf of Mexico. The city features historic buildings in its downtown area, as well as popular beaches along the shoreline like Beach Boulevard. The Bay St. Louis harbor hosts an annual regatta.


Waveland is another coastal town located just west of Bay St. Louis. It has a population of around 6,400 residents. Waveland was devastated by Hurricane Katrina in 2005, which destroyed many homes and businesses near the shore. Since then, the city has rebuilt itself into a popular weekend getaway spot with beaches, hotels, and restaurants.


Diamondhead is a larger census-designated place (CDP) in Hancock County, with a population around 8,200. It is located further inland along Interstate 10. Diamondhead features several residential communities and golf courses. The area continues to grow as a suburb for commuters working in Gulfport and Biloxi.

Smaller Unincorporated Communities

Hancock County also contains several smaller unincorporated communities like Kiln, Pearlington, and Lakeshore. These rural communities have populations in the low hundreds. They feature beautiful natural landscapes and provide a quieter lifestyle away from the larger cities.

All Hancock County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Hancock County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Bay Saint Louis City in Hancock County, Mississippi, United States of America 14,529
Diamondhead City in Hancock County, Mississippi, United States of America 8,058
Kiln Census-designated place in Hancock County, Mississippi 2,238
Pearlington Census-designated place in Hancock County, Mississippi 1,332
Waveland City in Hancock County, Mississippi, United States 6,315

County Cities on Map (5)

Mississippi Counties (82)

Hinds County (227,966) Harrison County (208,801) De Soto County (173,323) Rankin County (155,975) Jackson County (143,802) Madison County (106,871) Lee County (85,466) Forrest County (75,009) Lauderdale County (73,751) Jones County (67,993) Lamar County (64,165) Lowndes County (58,309) Pearl River County (55,876) Lafayette County (54,408) Oktibbeha County (49,789) Hancock County (48,000) Warren County (44,841) Washington County (42,837) Pike County (38,997) Alcorn County (36,889) Marshall County (35,301) Monroe County (35,123) Lincoln County (33,936) Panola County (33,848) Pontotoc County (32,461) Adams County (30,275) Bolivar County (30,142) Neshoba County (28,996) Union County (28,866) Tate County (28,539) Scott County (28,061) Copiah County (27,933) Leflore County (27,854) Yazoo County (26,982) Simpson County (26,629) Prentiss County (25,013) Sunflower County (24,740) Marion County (24,441) George County (24,425) Itawamba County (23,261) Leake County (22,741) Tippah County (21,748) Coahoma County (21,564) Newton County (20,866) Grenada County (20,610) Wayne County (20,317) Clay County (19,352) Tishomingo County (19,275) Covington County (18,518) Stone County (18,360) Attala County (18,004) Winston County (17,845) Chickasaw County (16,951) Holmes County (16,726) Jasper County (16,332) Smith County (15,779) Clarke County (15,299) Walthall County (14,294) Calhoun County (14,241) Tallahatchie County (13,707) Greene County (13,477) Lawrence County (12,480) Amite County (12,205) Yalobusha County (11,982) Perry County (11,862) Jefferson Davis County (10,890) Noxubee County (10,236) Carroll County (9,732) Webster County (9,676) Montgomery County (9,661) Kemper County (9,521) Tunica County (9,392) Claiborne County (8,911) Wilkinson County (8,351) Benton County (8,351) Choctaw County (8,063) Humphreys County (7,827) Franklin County (7,657) Jefferson County (6,997) Quitman County (6,760) Sharkey County (4,160) Issaquena County (1,220)