Cities & Towns in Lee County, MS

Lee County, county in Mississippi, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 85,466 inhabitants. The county was created 157 years ago in 1866. Its county seat is Tupelo.

There are 9 city/town in Lee County, MS. The largest city of Lee County is Auburn with a population of 60,258. Other cities include, Tupelo population 38,303, Saltillo population 5,071, Baldwyn population 3,249, Verona population 3,209


Auburn, The most populous city in Lee County, Mississippi.


Tupelo, City in and county seat of Lee County, Mississippi, United States


Saltillo, Human settlement in Lee County, Mississippi, United States of America

Located in the rolling hills of northeast Mississippi, Lee County contains several small Southern towns, each with their own unique history and character.


Tupelo is the largest city in Lee County and serves as the county seat. It was founded in 1866 along a railroad line. Tupelo is historically known as the birthplace of Elvis Presley, the renowned king of rock n' roll. The Elvis Presley Birthplace and Museum documents his humble beginnings. Tupelo also pays homage to its blues heritage with the Tupelo Blues Museum.


The small town of Baldwyn was incorporated in 1900 as a junction between two major rail lines. For over 60 years, Baldwyn was home to a thriving cotton mill that employed much of the town. Historic landmarks include the old Baldwyn Cotton Mill, the 1907 passenger train depot, and the Baldwyn water tower built in 1930.


East of Tupelo lies the town of Saltillo, which originated in the early 1900s. It was named by a settler from Mexico, linking it to the Battle of Saltillo during the Mexican-American War. Saltillo is home to several historic properties including the Harmony Hill Manor Plantation House and the 1877 Samuel Saltillo Aden House.


Verona started as a railroad village southwest of Tupelo in the late 1800s. It was the site of a Civil War skirmish in 1864 known as the Battle of Okolona. Verona is also known for its historic Old Main Street area containing commerce buildings from the early 1900s. Each April, Verona hosts the Verona Connection arts and music festival.


Northeast of Tupelo sits the small town of Plantersville, so named because it was established by early cotton planters in the Mississippi Territory. The Plantersville historic district contains structures dating back to the 1840s and offers a glimpse into the town's roots. Plantersville celebrates its heritage each year with the annual Founders Day Festival.

Though Lee County is anchored by the larger city of Tupelo, it is the county's smaller towns that provide an authentic window into Mississippi's history and culture. From the civil war to cotton gins, each town has shaped the landscape and identity of the region.

All Lee County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Lee County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Auburn The most populous city in Lee County, Mississippi. 60,258
Baldwyn City in Lee and Prentiss counties, Mississippi, United States 3,249
Guntown Town in Lee County, Mississippi, United States 2,797
Nettleton Town of the United States 1,896
Plantersville City in Lee County, Mississippi, United States of America 1,125
Saltillo Human settlement in Lee County, Mississippi, United States of America 5,071
Shannon Town in Lee County, Mississippi, USA 1,765
Tupelo City in and county seat of Lee County, Mississippi, United States 38,303
Verona City in Lee County, Mississippi 3,209

County Cities on Map (9)

Mississippi Counties (82)

Hinds County (227,966) Harrison County (208,801) De Soto County (173,323) Rankin County (155,975) Jackson County (143,802) Madison County (106,871) Lee County (85,466) Forrest County (75,009) Lauderdale County (73,751) Jones County (67,993) Lamar County (64,165) Lowndes County (58,309) Pearl River County (55,876) Lafayette County (54,408) Oktibbeha County (49,789) Hancock County (48,000) Warren County (44,841) Washington County (42,837) Pike County (38,997) Alcorn County (36,889) Marshall County (35,301) Monroe County (35,123) Lincoln County (33,936) Panola County (33,848) Pontotoc County (32,461) Adams County (30,275) Bolivar County (30,142) Neshoba County (28,996) Union County (28,866) Tate County (28,539) Scott County (28,061) Copiah County (27,933) Leflore County (27,854) Yazoo County (26,982) Simpson County (26,629) Prentiss County (25,013) Sunflower County (24,740) Marion County (24,441) George County (24,425) Itawamba County (23,261) Leake County (22,741) Tippah County (21,748) Coahoma County (21,564) Newton County (20,866) Grenada County (20,610) Wayne County (20,317) Clay County (19,352) Tishomingo County (19,275) Covington County (18,518) Stone County (18,360) Attala County (18,004) Winston County (17,845) Chickasaw County (16,951) Holmes County (16,726) Jasper County (16,332) Smith County (15,779) Clarke County (15,299) Walthall County (14,294) Calhoun County (14,241) Tallahatchie County (13,707) Greene County (13,477) Lawrence County (12,480) Amite County (12,205) Yalobusha County (11,982) Perry County (11,862) Jefferson Davis County (10,890) Noxubee County (10,236) Carroll County (9,732) Webster County (9,676) Montgomery County (9,661) Kemper County (9,521) Tunica County (9,392) Claiborne County (8,911) Wilkinson County (8,351) Benton County (8,351) Choctaw County (8,063) Humphreys County (7,827) Franklin County (7,657) Jefferson County (6,997) Quitman County (6,760) Sharkey County (4,160) Issaquena County (1,220)