Cities & Towns in Forrest County, MS

Forrest County, county in Mississippi, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 75,009 inhabitants. The county was created 116 years ago in 1908. Its county seat is Hattiesburg.

There are 2 city/town in Forrest County, MS. The largest city of Forrest County is Hattiesburg with a population of 45,806. Other cities include and Petal population 10,692


Hattiesburg, The most populous city in Forrest County, Mississippi.


Petal, Suburb city of Hattiesburg, located in Forrest County, Mississippi

Located in southeastern Mississippi, Forrest County contains a mix of historic small towns and larger economic hubs.


Hattiesburg is the largest city in the county and serves as the county seat, with around 46,000 residents. It features the African American Military History Museum, Hattiesburg Zoo, and performing arts at the Saenger Theater.


Petal lies southwest of Hattiesburg along Highway 42 with around 10,500 residents. This charming town features antique shops, restaurants, and the Petal Civic Center.


The small town of Brooklyn is located north of Hattiesburg near the Leaf River. It has around 500 residents and is known for its Southern hospitality and historic downtown area.


Glendale is an unincorporated community northeast of Hattiesburg near the Okatoma Creek. It was settled in the early 1800s and has a nostalgic Southern character.

Rawls Springs

Rawls Springs is an unincorporated historic village northwest of Hattiesburg near Rawls Springs Lake. It contains homes and buildings dating back to the 19th century.

From historic Southern towns to modern economic centers, Forrest County encapsulates the blending of past charm and contemporary lifestyles in southeastern Mississippi.

All Forrest County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Forrest County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Hattiesburg The most populous city in Forrest County, Mississippi. 45,806
Petal Suburb city of Hattiesburg, located in Forrest County, Mississippi 10,692

County Cities on Map (2)

Mississippi Counties (82)

Hinds County (227,966) Harrison County (208,801) De Soto County (173,323) Rankin County (155,975) Jackson County (143,802) Madison County (106,871) Lee County (85,466) Forrest County (75,009) Lauderdale County (73,751) Jones County (67,993) Lamar County (64,165) Lowndes County (58,309) Pearl River County (55,876) Lafayette County (54,408) Oktibbeha County (49,789) Hancock County (48,000) Warren County (44,841) Washington County (42,837) Pike County (38,997) Alcorn County (36,889) Marshall County (35,301) Monroe County (35,123) Lincoln County (33,936) Panola County (33,848) Pontotoc County (32,461) Adams County (30,275) Bolivar County (30,142) Neshoba County (28,996) Union County (28,866) Tate County (28,539) Scott County (28,061) Copiah County (27,933) Leflore County (27,854) Yazoo County (26,982) Simpson County (26,629) Prentiss County (25,013) Sunflower County (24,740) Marion County (24,441) George County (24,425) Itawamba County (23,261) Leake County (22,741) Tippah County (21,748) Coahoma County (21,564) Newton County (20,866) Grenada County (20,610) Wayne County (20,317) Clay County (19,352) Tishomingo County (19,275) Covington County (18,518) Stone County (18,360) Attala County (18,004) Winston County (17,845) Chickasaw County (16,951) Holmes County (16,726) Jasper County (16,332) Smith County (15,779) Clarke County (15,299) Walthall County (14,294) Calhoun County (14,241) Tallahatchie County (13,707) Greene County (13,477) Lawrence County (12,480) Amite County (12,205) Yalobusha County (11,982) Perry County (11,862) Jefferson Davis County (10,890) Noxubee County (10,236) Carroll County (9,732) Webster County (9,676) Montgomery County (9,661) Kemper County (9,521) Tunica County (9,392) Claiborne County (8,911) Wilkinson County (8,351) Benton County (8,351) Choctaw County (8,063) Humphreys County (7,827) Franklin County (7,657) Jefferson County (6,997) Quitman County (6,760) Sharkey County (4,160) Issaquena County (1,220)