Cities & Towns in Jones County, MS

Jones County, county in South Dakota, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 67,993 inhabitants. The county was created 108 years ago in 1916. Its county seat is Murdo.

There are 4 city/town in Jones County, MS. The largest city of Jones County is Laurel with a population of 18,197. Other cities include, Ellisville population 4,551, Sandersville population 721 and Soso population 396


Laurel, City in Mississippi, United States of America


Ellisville, City in Mississippi, United States


Sandersville, Human settlement in Jones County, Mississippi, United States of America

Located in southeastern Mississippi, Jones County contains several small towns and communities that provide insights into the region's history and character. Here are some highlights:

Laurel - The largest city in the county with around 18,000 residents. Laurel has historic districts showcasing Victorian homes and downtown buildings from its timber industry heyday.

Ellisville - The county seat since its founding in the early 1800s, Ellisville has under 5,000 residents. The town square has historic courthouses, shops and museums highlighting the area's pine forests.

Ovett - This tiny unincorporated community has a history tied to the railroad and blueberry farming. An annual Blueberry Jubilee celebrates Ovett's agricultural heritage.

Sandersville - Sitting right near the Leaf River, Sandersville is a small village known as the “Crawfish Capital of the World.” An annual crawfish festival draws crowds.

Sharon - Located in eastern Jones County, Sharon is a small community settled by Scottish immigrants. Historic churches and cemeteries date back to the early 19th century.

Jones County's towns each reveal aspects of the area's cultural roots and natural landscapes, from railroad and logging histories to blueberry fields and crawfish festivals. Even the smallest communities hold unique stories and southern charm.

All Jones County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Jones County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Ellisville City in Mississippi, United States 4,551
Laurel City in Mississippi, United States of America 18,197
Sandersville Human settlement in Jones County, Mississippi, United States of America 721
Soso Town in Jones County, Mississippi, USA 396

County Cities on Map (4)

Mississippi Counties (82)

Hinds County (227,966) Harrison County (208,801) De Soto County (173,323) Rankin County (155,975) Jackson County (143,802) Madison County (106,871) Lee County (85,466) Forrest County (75,009) Lauderdale County (73,751) Jones County (67,993) Lamar County (64,165) Lowndes County (58,309) Pearl River County (55,876) Lafayette County (54,408) Oktibbeha County (49,789) Hancock County (48,000) Warren County (44,841) Washington County (42,837) Pike County (38,997) Alcorn County (36,889) Marshall County (35,301) Monroe County (35,123) Lincoln County (33,936) Panola County (33,848) Pontotoc County (32,461) Adams County (30,275) Bolivar County (30,142) Neshoba County (28,996) Union County (28,866) Tate County (28,539) Scott County (28,061) Copiah County (27,933) Leflore County (27,854) Yazoo County (26,982) Simpson County (26,629) Prentiss County (25,013) Sunflower County (24,740) Marion County (24,441) George County (24,425) Itawamba County (23,261) Leake County (22,741) Tippah County (21,748) Coahoma County (21,564) Newton County (20,866) Grenada County (20,610) Wayne County (20,317) Clay County (19,352) Tishomingo County (19,275) Covington County (18,518) Stone County (18,360) Attala County (18,004) Winston County (17,845) Chickasaw County (16,951) Holmes County (16,726) Jasper County (16,332) Smith County (15,779) Clarke County (15,299) Walthall County (14,294) Calhoun County (14,241) Tallahatchie County (13,707) Greene County (13,477) Lawrence County (12,480) Amite County (12,205) Yalobusha County (11,982) Perry County (11,862) Jefferson Davis County (10,890) Noxubee County (10,236) Carroll County (9,732) Webster County (9,676) Montgomery County (9,661) Kemper County (9,521) Tunica County (9,392) Claiborne County (8,911) Wilkinson County (8,351) Benton County (8,351) Choctaw County (8,063) Humphreys County (7,827) Franklin County (7,657) Jefferson County (6,997) Quitman County (6,760) Sharkey County (4,160) Issaquena County (1,220)