Cities & Towns in Lamar County, MS

Lamar County, county in Mississippi, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 64,165 inhabitants. The county was created 119 years ago in 1904. Its county seat is Purvis.

There are 4 city/town in Lamar County, MS. The largest city of Lamar County is West Hattiesburg with a population of 5,909. Other cities include, Purvis population 2,398, Lumberton population 2,242 and Sumrall population 1,926

West Hattiesburg
West Hattiesburg

West Hattiesburg, Census designated place


Purvis, Small city in Mississippi, U.


Lumberton, City in Mississippi, United States

Lamar County is located in southern Mississippi within the Pine Belt region. While largely rural, Lamar County does contain a few small towns and communities worth noting. Here are some of the key cities and towns within Lamar County:


Purvis is the largest city in Lamar County with around 2,500 residents. Located near the intersection of Highways 11 and 589, Purvis serves as a central hub for the county. Key attractions include the Cooley Museum and Heritage Center and T.M. Scruggs Memorial Park.


Lumberton is the county seat of Lamar County, though it only has around 2,000 residents. This city contains the historic Lamar County Courthouse on the public square along with shops and eateries downtown.


Sumrall is another small town located along Highway 589 with just over 1,000 residents. The town hosts the annual Sumrall Hill Horse Show & Rodeo and contains eateries like White Kitchen restaurant.


Baxterville is an unincorporated community situated along the Pearl River. With a population around 500, Baxterville has historic buildings like the old Baxterville School and the Midway Baptist Church.


Oloh is one of the smaller towns in Lamar County, with just over 400 residents. Located northeast of Purvis, Oloh was settled in the early 1800s and contains Antioch Baptist Church.

All Lamar County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Lamar County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Lumberton City in Mississippi, United States 2,242
Purvis Small city in Mississippi, U. 2,398
Sumrall City in Lamar County, Mississippi, United States of America 1,926
West Hattiesburg Census designated place 5,909

County Cities on Map (4)

Mississippi Counties (82)

Hinds County (227,966) Harrison County (208,801) De Soto County (173,323) Rankin County (155,975) Jackson County (143,802) Madison County (106,871) Lee County (85,466) Forrest County (75,009) Lauderdale County (73,751) Jones County (67,993) Lamar County (64,165) Lowndes County (58,309) Pearl River County (55,876) Lafayette County (54,408) Oktibbeha County (49,789) Hancock County (48,000) Warren County (44,841) Washington County (42,837) Pike County (38,997) Alcorn County (36,889) Marshall County (35,301) Monroe County (35,123) Lincoln County (33,936) Panola County (33,848) Pontotoc County (32,461) Adams County (30,275) Bolivar County (30,142) Neshoba County (28,996) Union County (28,866) Tate County (28,539) Scott County (28,061) Copiah County (27,933) Leflore County (27,854) Yazoo County (26,982) Simpson County (26,629) Prentiss County (25,013) Sunflower County (24,740) Marion County (24,441) George County (24,425) Itawamba County (23,261) Leake County (22,741) Tippah County (21,748) Coahoma County (21,564) Newton County (20,866) Grenada County (20,610) Wayne County (20,317) Clay County (19,352) Tishomingo County (19,275) Covington County (18,518) Stone County (18,360) Attala County (18,004) Winston County (17,845) Chickasaw County (16,951) Holmes County (16,726) Jasper County (16,332) Smith County (15,779) Clarke County (15,299) Walthall County (14,294) Calhoun County (14,241) Tallahatchie County (13,707) Greene County (13,477) Lawrence County (12,480) Amite County (12,205) Yalobusha County (11,982) Perry County (11,862) Jefferson Davis County (10,890) Noxubee County (10,236) Carroll County (9,732) Webster County (9,676) Montgomery County (9,661) Kemper County (9,521) Tunica County (9,392) Claiborne County (8,911) Wilkinson County (8,351) Benton County (8,351) Choctaw County (8,063) Humphreys County (7,827) Franklin County (7,657) Jefferson County (6,997) Quitman County (6,760) Sharkey County (4,160) Issaquena County (1,220)