Cities & Towns in Lowndes County, MS

Lowndes County, county in Mississippi, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 58,309 inhabitants. The county was created 193 years ago in 1830. Its county seat is Columbus.

There are 4 city/town in Lowndes County, MS. The largest city of Lowndes County is Columbus with a population of 23,307. Other cities include, Caledonia population 1,048, Crawford population 655 and Artesia population 420


Columbus, County seat of Lowndes County, Mississippi, United States


Caledonia, City in Mississippi, United States of America


Crawford, Town in Lowndes County, Mississippi

Lowndes County is located in northeastern Mississippi within the Columbus micropolitan area. The county has a population of around 59,000 residents. Here are some highlights of the cities and towns in Lowndes County:


Columbus is the county seat and largest city in Lowndes County with around 24,000 residents. It played a key role in the Confederacy during the Civil War. Today Columbus is known for its historic architecture including the Tennessee Williams Welcome Center.

New Hope

New Hope is a small unincorporated community northwest of Columbus with around 250 residents. It originated as a railroad construction camp in the 1850s. The New Hope Cumberland Presbyterian Church and New Hope Cemetery provide insights into the area's history.


Artesia is a village located east of Columbus with around 500 residents. The downtown area has historic buildings and structures now used as shops and cafes. Annual events include the Front Porch Blues Bash held at the Artesia Public Library.


Crawford is an unincorporated town south of Columbus established in the 1830s. It had around 600 residents as of 2000. Historic sites include the Kirkwood Plantation, Tabernacle Methodist Church, and Crawford Depot Museum.


Caledonia is a small rural town located southwest of Columbus with around 1,000 residents. The Caledonia Historic District includes Victorian homes, churches, and other 19th century buildings.

All Lowndes County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Lowndes County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Artesia Town of the United States 420
Caledonia City in Mississippi, United States of America 1,048
Columbus County seat of Lowndes County, Mississippi, United States 23,307
Crawford Town in Lowndes County, Mississippi 655

County Cities on Map (4)

Mississippi Counties (82)

Hinds County (227,966) Harrison County (208,801) De Soto County (173,323) Rankin County (155,975) Jackson County (143,802) Madison County (106,871) Lee County (85,466) Forrest County (75,009) Lauderdale County (73,751) Jones County (67,993) Lamar County (64,165) Lowndes County (58,309) Pearl River County (55,876) Lafayette County (54,408) Oktibbeha County (49,789) Hancock County (48,000) Warren County (44,841) Washington County (42,837) Pike County (38,997) Alcorn County (36,889) Marshall County (35,301) Monroe County (35,123) Lincoln County (33,936) Panola County (33,848) Pontotoc County (32,461) Adams County (30,275) Bolivar County (30,142) Neshoba County (28,996) Union County (28,866) Tate County (28,539) Scott County (28,061) Copiah County (27,933) Leflore County (27,854) Yazoo County (26,982) Simpson County (26,629) Prentiss County (25,013) Sunflower County (24,740) Marion County (24,441) George County (24,425) Itawamba County (23,261) Leake County (22,741) Tippah County (21,748) Coahoma County (21,564) Newton County (20,866) Grenada County (20,610) Wayne County (20,317) Clay County (19,352) Tishomingo County (19,275) Covington County (18,518) Stone County (18,360) Attala County (18,004) Winston County (17,845) Chickasaw County (16,951) Holmes County (16,726) Jasper County (16,332) Smith County (15,779) Clarke County (15,299) Walthall County (14,294) Calhoun County (14,241) Tallahatchie County (13,707) Greene County (13,477) Lawrence County (12,480) Amite County (12,205) Yalobusha County (11,982) Perry County (11,862) Jefferson Davis County (10,890) Noxubee County (10,236) Carroll County (9,732) Webster County (9,676) Montgomery County (9,661) Kemper County (9,521) Tunica County (9,392) Claiborne County (8,911) Wilkinson County (8,351) Benton County (8,351) Choctaw County (8,063) Humphreys County (7,827) Franklin County (7,657) Jefferson County (6,997) Quitman County (6,760) Sharkey County (4,160) Issaquena County (1,220)