Cities & Towns in Pearl River County, MS

Pearl River County, county in Mississippi, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 55,876 inhabitants. The county was created 133 years ago in 1890. Its county seat is Poplarville.

There are 2 city/town in Pearl River County, MS. The largest city of Pearl River County is Picayune with a population of 10,886. Other cities include and Poplarville population 2,780


Picayune, City in Pearl River County, Mississippi, United States


Poplarville, City in Pearl River County, Mississippi, United States

Pearl River County is located in southern Mississippi along the Louisiana border. It was created in 1890 from portions of Hancock and Marion counties. Here are some of the notable cities and towns in Pearl River County:


Poplarville is the county seat and largest city in Pearl River County. It was incorporated in 1904 and named after prominent businessman Poplar Jim Smith. Some landmarks include the Pearl River County Courthouse, Poplarville Carnegie Library, and the Caney Creek White Ground Site.


Picayune is the largest city in Pearl River County located along I-59. It was established in 1904 with the arrival of the railroad and named after Eliza Jane Poitevent Nicholson who owned the local newspaper. Points of interest include the Pearl River County Museum and the Crosby Arboretum.


Lumberton is a small city on the Pearl River founded around 1884 as a lumber and logging town. Historic sites include the Lumberton Light Historic District and St. Paul Catholic Church built in 1905. An annual Lumberton Azalea Festival is held each spring.


Nicholson is an unincorporated community near the Louisiana border. It was originally settled by French colonists in the 18th century. The Old Nicholson Farmhouse, Darimont House Ruins, and Nicholson Cemetery are local historic sites.


McNeill is a very small rural town located between Lumberton and Picayune. It was settled in the early 20th century as a railroad town and features some historic buildings like the McNeill Baptist Church.

All Pearl River County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Pearl River County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Picayune City in Pearl River County, Mississippi, United States 10,886
Poplarville City in Pearl River County, Mississippi, United States 2,780

County Cities on Map (2)

Mississippi Counties (82)

Hinds County (227,966) Harrison County (208,801) De Soto County (173,323) Rankin County (155,975) Jackson County (143,802) Madison County (106,871) Lee County (85,466) Forrest County (75,009) Lauderdale County (73,751) Jones County (67,993) Lamar County (64,165) Lowndes County (58,309) Pearl River County (55,876) Lafayette County (54,408) Oktibbeha County (49,789) Hancock County (48,000) Warren County (44,841) Washington County (42,837) Pike County (38,997) Alcorn County (36,889) Marshall County (35,301) Monroe County (35,123) Lincoln County (33,936) Panola County (33,848) Pontotoc County (32,461) Adams County (30,275) Bolivar County (30,142) Neshoba County (28,996) Union County (28,866) Tate County (28,539) Scott County (28,061) Copiah County (27,933) Leflore County (27,854) Yazoo County (26,982) Simpson County (26,629) Prentiss County (25,013) Sunflower County (24,740) Marion County (24,441) George County (24,425) Itawamba County (23,261) Leake County (22,741) Tippah County (21,748) Coahoma County (21,564) Newton County (20,866) Grenada County (20,610) Wayne County (20,317) Clay County (19,352) Tishomingo County (19,275) Covington County (18,518) Stone County (18,360) Attala County (18,004) Winston County (17,845) Chickasaw County (16,951) Holmes County (16,726) Jasper County (16,332) Smith County (15,779) Clarke County (15,299) Walthall County (14,294) Calhoun County (14,241) Tallahatchie County (13,707) Greene County (13,477) Lawrence County (12,480) Amite County (12,205) Yalobusha County (11,982) Perry County (11,862) Jefferson Davis County (10,890) Noxubee County (10,236) Carroll County (9,732) Webster County (9,676) Montgomery County (9,661) Kemper County (9,521) Tunica County (9,392) Claiborne County (8,911) Wilkinson County (8,351) Benton County (8,351) Choctaw County (8,063) Humphreys County (7,827) Franklin County (7,657) Jefferson County (6,997) Quitman County (6,760) Sharkey County (4,160) Issaquena County (1,220)