Cities & Towns in Colbert County, AL

Colbert County, county in Alabama, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 55,411 inhabitants. The county was created 157 years ago in 1867. Its county seat is Tuscumbia.

There are 9 city/town in Colbert County, AL. The largest city of Colbert County is Muscle Shoals with a population of 14,877. Other cities include, Sheffield population 8,839, Tuscumbia population 8,462, Bear Creek population 1,061, Cherokee population 999

Muscle Shoals
Muscle Shoals

Muscle Shoals, City in Alabama, USA


Sheffield, City in Alabama, USA


Tuscumbia, City in Alabama, United States of America

Colbert County is located in the northern part of Alabama along the Tennessee River. It was established in 1867 and named after George and Levi Colbert, prominent Chickasaw chiefs. Here are some of the notable cities and towns in Colbert County:


Tuscumbia is the largest city and county seat of Colbert County. It was founded in 1820 by Michael Dickson and hosts historic sites like Spring Park, the Keller Memorial Cemetery, and Ivy Green birthplace of Helen Keller.

Muscle Shoals

Muscle Shoals lies on the Tennessee River and is known as the “Hit Recording Capital of the World” for its famous music studios. The Alabama Music Hall of Fame and the Muscle Shoals Sound Studio are located here along with great riverfront views.


Sheffield is located along the Tennessee River adjacent to Muscle Shoals. It was founded in 1885 and named after Sheffield, England. Points of interest include the W.C. Handy Home Museum, Old Sheffield Downtown District, and the Fame Recording Studios.


Cherokee is a small town situated along the Tennessee River north of Sheffield. It was originally called Chisholm after founder Jesse Ben Chisholm. Key sites include Colbert County Park, Cherokee Elementary School, and historic downtown buildings.


Littleville is an unincorporated community east of Tuscumbia. It originated as a railroad town in the 19th century. Historic sites include the Littleville Depot, old cotton mill, and several churches dating back to the early 1900s.

All Colbert County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Colbert County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Bear Creek Town in Marion County, Alabama, USA 1,061
Cherokee Town in Alabama, United States 999
Lakeview Town in DeKalb County, Alabama 156
Leighton Town in Alabama 754
Littleville Town 992
Muscle Shoals City in Alabama, USA 14,877
Section Town in Alabama 743
Sheffield City in Alabama, USA 8,839
Tuscumbia City in Alabama, United States of America 8,462

County Cities on Map (9)

Alabama Counties (67)

Jefferson County (655,342) Mobile County (412,716) Madison County (379,453) Baldwin County (229,287) Montgomery County (224,639) Shelby County (221,428) Tuscaloosa County (210,758) Lee County (166,831) Morgan County (119,883) Calhoun County (113,469) Houston County (106,580) Etowah County (102,371) Limestone County (102,228) Marshall County (96,990) Lauderdale County (93,368) Saint Clair County (90,739) Cullman County (84,515) Elmore County (82,158) Talladega County (79,985) DeKalb County (71,658) Walker County (63,143) Russell County (58,237) Blount County (57,879) Autauga County (56,145) Colbert County (55,411) Coffee County (53,230) Jackson County (51,582) Dale County (48,959) Chilton County (44,397) Tallapoosa County (40,133) Covington County (36,930) Escambia County (36,281) Dallas County (36,098) Pike County (32,966) Chambers County (32,865) Lawrence County (32,857) Franklin County (31,507) Marion County (29,703) Geneva County (26,411) Cherokee County (26,294) Barbour County (24,589) Winston County (23,508) Clarke County (23,291) Randolph County (22,920) Bibb County (22,136) Monroe County (20,459) Pickens County (19,793) Butler County (19,504) Marengo County (18,733) Macon County (17,895) Henry County (17,223) Fayette County (16,241) Washington County (15,976) Cleburne County (14,967) Hale County (14,670) Lamar County (13,764) Crenshaw County (13,681) Clay County (13,112) Choctaw County (12,418) Sumter County (12,225) Conecuh County (11,851) Coosa County (10,650) Wilcox County (10,206) Bullock County (9,976) Lowndes County (9,641) Perry County (8,687) Greene County (7,990)