Cities & Towns in Limestone County, AL

Limestone County, county in Alabama, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 102,228 inhabitants. The county was created 205 years ago in 1818. Its county seat is Athens.

There are 3 city/town in Limestone County, AL. The largest city of Limestone County is Athens with a population of 28,643. Other cities include, Elkmont population 528 and Mooresville population 60


Athens, County seat of Limestone County, Alabama, United States


Elkmont, Town in Alabama, United States


Mooresville, Town in Limestone County, Alabama, United States

Situated in the fertile Tennessee Valley region of North Alabama, Limestone County is home to several small cities and towns steeped in Southern history and charm. The county seat is Athens, known for its antebellum homes and architecture as well as being home to Athens State University.

Just southwest of Athens sits the city of Elkmont, a historic railroad town with a quaint downtown area. To the east is the city of Lester, lying along the rich farmlands and rolling hills of Limestone County. The community of Tanner developed as a hub for the surrounding agricultural area which dominates the landscape.

Other Limestone County towns like Ardmore, Goodspring, and Mooresville grew along stagecoach and railroad routes, with historic buildings reminding visitors of days gone by. No matter which Limestone County community you visit, you'll find welcoming residents proud of their heritage in this unique part of the Tennessee Valley anchored by the bustling college town of Athens.

All Limestone County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Limestone County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Athens County seat of Limestone County, Alabama, United States 28,643
Elkmont Town in Alabama, United States 528
Mooresville Town in Limestone County, Alabama, United States 60

County Cities on Map (3)

Alabama Counties (67)

Jefferson County (655,342) Mobile County (412,716) Madison County (379,453) Baldwin County (229,287) Montgomery County (224,639) Shelby County (221,428) Tuscaloosa County (210,758) Lee County (166,831) Morgan County (119,883) Calhoun County (113,469) Houston County (106,580) Etowah County (102,371) Limestone County (102,228) Marshall County (96,990) Lauderdale County (93,368) Saint Clair County (90,739) Cullman County (84,515) Elmore County (82,158) Talladega County (79,985) DeKalb County (71,658) Walker County (63,143) Russell County (58,237) Blount County (57,879) Autauga County (56,145) Colbert County (55,411) Coffee County (53,230) Jackson County (51,582) Dale County (48,959) Chilton County (44,397) Tallapoosa County (40,133) Covington County (36,930) Escambia County (36,281) Dallas County (36,098) Pike County (32,966) Chambers County (32,865) Lawrence County (32,857) Franklin County (31,507) Marion County (29,703) Geneva County (26,411) Cherokee County (26,294) Barbour County (24,589) Winston County (23,508) Clarke County (23,291) Randolph County (22,920) Bibb County (22,136) Monroe County (20,459) Pickens County (19,793) Butler County (19,504) Marengo County (18,733) Macon County (17,895) Henry County (17,223) Fayette County (16,241) Washington County (15,976) Cleburne County (14,967) Hale County (14,670) Lamar County (13,764) Crenshaw County (13,681) Clay County (13,112) Choctaw County (12,418) Sumter County (12,225) Conecuh County (11,851) Coosa County (10,650) Wilcox County (10,206) Bullock County (9,976) Lowndes County (9,641) Perry County (8,687) Greene County (7,990)