Cities & Towns in Winnebago County, IL

Winnebago County, county in Illinois, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 281,295 inhabitants. The county was created 188 years ago in 1836. Its county seat is Rockford.

There are 15 city/town in Winnebago County, IL. The largest city of Winnebago County is Rockford with a population of 144,835. Other cities include, Loves Park population 23,382, Machesney Park population 22,678, Roscoe population 10,406, South Beloit population 7,540


Rockford, The second most populous city in Illinois.

Loves Park
Loves Park

Loves Park, City north of Rockford, Illinois

Machesney Park
Machesney Park

Machesney Park, Village in the U.

Sitting along the Rock River in Northern Illinois, Winnebago County boasts a thriving urban hub alongside quaint rural towns that embrace the region's natural assets. Several unique cities across the county provide glimpses into its varied landscape.

The vibrant riverfront city of Rockford anchors the county as the state’s third largest city. Tree-lined paths along the Rock River lead to restaurants, shops, and museums in its active downtown district.

To Rockford’s south, the village of Cherry Valley charms with its historic covered bridge overlooking the river. Nearby Loves Park balances industry and nature through riverside parks and easy access to Rock Cut State Park trails.

Further south, the agricultural town of Pecatonica retains its rural heritage through entities like the Pecatonica Prairie Nursery and festivals that celebrate the town’s farming roots.

From the urban energy of Rockford to remote country hamlets, Winnebago County’s diverse cities encapsulate the spectrum of life in Northern Illinois – where farmlands meet forests, and history meets progress.

All Winnebago County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Winnebago County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Cherry Valley Township in Winnebago County, Illinois 2,853
Durand Village in the United States 1,387
Harlem Township in Winnebago County, Illinois, United States 2,114
Lake Summerset Census designated place 2,048
Loves Park City north of Rockford, Illinois 23,382
Machesney Park Village in the U. 22,678
New Milford Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 851
Pecatonica City in Illinois, United States of America 1,926
Rockford The second most populous city in Illinois. 144,835
Rockton Illinois village near the Wisconsin border 7,477
Roscoe Town 10,406
Seward Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 874
Shirland Township in Winnebago County, Illinois 944
South Beloit City in Winnebago County, Illinois, United States 7,540
Winnebago City in Minnesota, United States 2,973

County Cities on Map (15)

Illinois Counties (102)

Cook County (5,108,284) DuPage County (917,481) Lake County (693,593) Will County (688,726) Kane County (531,010) McHenry County (305,888) Winnebago County (281,295) Madison County (262,635) Saint Clair County (258,046) Champaign County (209,192) Sangamon County (193,882) Peoria County (177,652) McLean County (171,256) Rock Island County (140,907) Tazewell County (130,777) Kendall County (130,638) Kankakee County (108,594) LaSalle County (107,571) DeKalb County (104,491) Macon County (103,015) Vermilion County (74,855) Williamson County (66,415) Adams County (64,783) Jackson County (56,675) Whiteside County (54,656) Boone County (52,777) Grundy County (50,993) Coles County (50,383) Ogle County (50,306) Knox County (49,053) Henry County (48,411) Macoupin County (44,567) Stephenson County (43,831) Woodford County (38,091) Franklin County (38,060) Clinton County (37,398) Jefferson County (37,235) Marion County (37,045) Livingston County (35,414) Monroe County (34,739) Effingham County (34,065) Fulton County (33,690) Lee County (33,647) Morgan County (33,400) Bureau County (32,303) Christian County (32,075) Randolph County (31,351) McDonough County (29,295) Logan County (28,383) Montgomery County (28,045) Iroquois County (26,711) Saline County (23,182) Jersey County (21,616) Shelby County (21,299) Fayette County (21,264) Jo Daviess County (21,239) Perry County (20,664) Douglas County (19,510) Crawford County (18,512) Hancock County (17,422) Edgar County (16,858) Warren County (16,696) Union County (16,498) Piatt County (16,355) Bond County (16,262) Wayne County (16,031) Richland County (15,507) Lawrence County (15,467) De Witt County (15,368) Clark County (15,268) Pike County (15,239) Mercer County (15,225) Moultrie County (14,347) Carroll County (14,241) Washington County (13,764) Massac County (13,636) White County (13,364) Mason County (13,173) Clay County (13,079) Ford County (12,949) Greene County (12,702) Johnson County (12,358) Menard County (12,068) Cass County (11,925) Marshall County (11,309) Wabash County (11,190) Cumberland County (10,649) Jasper County (9,465) Hamilton County (8,084) Schuyler County (6,738) Brown County (6,546) Henderson County (6,535) Edwards County (6,356) Putnam County (5,716) Alexander County (5,497) Stark County (5,262) Pulaski County (5,201) Scott County (4,950) Gallatin County (4,793) Calhoun County (4,616) Pope County (4,142) Hardin County (3,808)