Cities & Towns in Williamson County, IL

Williamson County, county in Illinois, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 66,415 inhabitants. The county was created 185 years ago in 1839. Its county seat is Marion.

There are 16 city/town in Williamson County, IL. The largest city of Williamson County is Marion with a population of 17,803. Other cities include, Herrin population 12,625, Crestwood population 10,604, Carterville population 5,834, Johnston City population 3,389


Marion, City in and the county seat of Williamson County, Illinois, United States


Herrin, City in Williamson County, Illinois, United States


Crestwood, Village in United States of America

Located in southern Illinois, Williamson County contains several historic small towns that highlight the region's frontier roots and natural beauty. Here are some highlights:

Marion - The county seat and largest city with over 17,000 residents. Marion has a historic town square, antique shops, and museums like the Marion Carnegie Library.

Herrin - Home to around 12,000 people, Herrin has strong coal mining heritage. Key sites are the Herrin Massacre Memorial and historic downtown buildings.

Johnston City - Founded as a company town for miners, Johnston City has around 3,000 residents today. The John F. Kennedy Memorial Plaza commemorates the president's 1960 campaign stop.

Creal Springs - A small village along the Shawnee Hills Scenic Byway known for its wineries and scenic vistas. The population is under 600.

Bush - Nestled in the Shawnee National Forest, this tiny town of around 300 has a historic general store and playgrounds for enjoying the outdoors.

Williamson County's towns each reveal a different aspect of this region's frontier settlement, from early mining endeavors to natural beauty and modern wineries. Outdoor charm combines with small town history.

All Williamson County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Williamson County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Bainbridge Township in Schuyler County, Illinois 569
Bush Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 263
Cambria Village in the United States 1,648
Carterville City in Williamson County, Illinois, United States 5,834
Colp Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 208
Crainville City in Illinois, United States of America 1,419
Creal Springs Township in Williamson County, Illinois 521
Crestwood Village in United States of America 10,604
Energy Village in Illinois 1,086
Freeman Spur Human settlement in United States of America 276
Herrin City in Williamson County, Illinois, United States 12,625
Hurst City in Illinois, USA 780
Johnston City City in Illinois, United States 3,389
Marion City in and the county seat of Williamson County, Illinois, United States 17,803
Sleepy Hollow Village in Illinois 3,215
Spillertown Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 197

County Cities on Map (16)

Illinois Counties (102)

Cook County (5,108,284) DuPage County (917,481) Lake County (693,593) Will County (688,726) Kane County (531,010) McHenry County (305,888) Winnebago County (281,295) Madison County (262,635) Saint Clair County (258,046) Champaign County (209,192) Sangamon County (193,882) Peoria County (177,652) McLean County (171,256) Rock Island County (140,907) Tazewell County (130,777) Kendall County (130,638) Kankakee County (108,594) LaSalle County (107,571) DeKalb County (104,491) Macon County (103,015) Vermilion County (74,855) Williamson County (66,415) Adams County (64,783) Jackson County (56,675) Whiteside County (54,656) Boone County (52,777) Grundy County (50,993) Coles County (50,383) Ogle County (50,306) Knox County (49,053) Henry County (48,411) Macoupin County (44,567) Stephenson County (43,831) Woodford County (38,091) Franklin County (38,060) Clinton County (37,398) Jefferson County (37,235) Marion County (37,045) Livingston County (35,414) Monroe County (34,739) Effingham County (34,065) Fulton County (33,690) Lee County (33,647) Morgan County (33,400) Bureau County (32,303) Christian County (32,075) Randolph County (31,351) McDonough County (29,295) Logan County (28,383) Montgomery County (28,045) Iroquois County (26,711) Saline County (23,182) Jersey County (21,616) Shelby County (21,299) Fayette County (21,264) Jo Daviess County (21,239) Perry County (20,664) Douglas County (19,510) Crawford County (18,512) Hancock County (17,422) Edgar County (16,858) Warren County (16,696) Union County (16,498) Piatt County (16,355) Bond County (16,262) Wayne County (16,031) Richland County (15,507) Lawrence County (15,467) De Witt County (15,368) Clark County (15,268) Pike County (15,239) Mercer County (15,225) Moultrie County (14,347) Carroll County (14,241) Washington County (13,764) Massac County (13,636) White County (13,364) Mason County (13,173) Clay County (13,079) Ford County (12,949) Greene County (12,702) Johnson County (12,358) Menard County (12,068) Cass County (11,925) Marshall County (11,309) Wabash County (11,190) Cumberland County (10,649) Jasper County (9,465) Hamilton County (8,084) Schuyler County (6,738) Brown County (6,546) Henderson County (6,535) Edwards County (6,356) Putnam County (5,716) Alexander County (5,497) Stark County (5,262) Pulaski County (5,201) Scott County (4,950) Gallatin County (4,793) Calhoun County (4,616) Pope County (4,142) Hardin County (3,808)