Cities & Towns in Grundy County, IL

Grundy County, county in Illinois, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 50,993 inhabitants. The county was created 183 years ago in 1841. Its county seat is Morris.

There are 15 city/town in Grundy County, IL. The largest city of Grundy County is Morris with a population of 15,162. Other cities include, Aux Sable population 13,493, Minooka population 11,456, Coal City population 5,351, Diamond population 2,484


Morris, City in Illinois

Aux Sable
Aux Sable

Aux Sable, Township in Grundy County, Illinois


Minooka, City in Illinois, United States of America

Located southwest of Chicago, Grundy County is home to a few small cities and towns that provide insights into the area's history and development. Here are some highlights:


Morris is the county seat and largest city in Grundy County with around 15,000 residents. Located along the Illinois River and Route 47, Morris was founded in the 1830s. Key sites include the Grundy County Courthouse, Nettle Creek School, and Dock Historic District.

Coal City

Coal City is a city in eastern Grundy County with about 5,500 residents. It was established as a coal mining community in the 1860s. The Coal City Public Library and Coal City Village Hall are historic downtown buildings. An annual Coal City Days celebration is held each summer.


Minooka is a village in central Grundy County with a population around 11,000. It contains the Minooka Historical Society Museum and Waupecan Mill, a replica of an 1837 gristmill. Minooka's annual Sweet Corn Festival draws visitors each summer.


Diamond is a small village in northeastern Grundy County that was settled by Belgian immigrants in the 1850s. With around 2,500 residents, Diamond has several historic churches and buildings that reflect its founding heritage.


Gardner is a village along the Kankakee River in western Grundy County with around 1,400 residents. Gardner holds a Settlers' Days festival each year celebrating the area's history and pioneering founders. The Garfield Historic District has 19th century buildings.

Grundy County's small cities and towns reflect the area’s early immigrant settlements, coal mining heritage, and historic 19th century architecture. Local museums and festivals commemorate the communities.

All Grundy County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Grundy County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Aux Sable Township in Grundy County, Illinois 13,493
Braceville Township in Grundy County, Illinois 709
Carbon Hill Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 334
Coal City Village in United States of America 5,351
Diamond Village in Illinois, USA 2,484
East Brooklyn Village in Illinois, United States 104
Gardner Village in Illinois, United States 1,377
Kinsman Village in Illinois, United States 96
Mazon Village in the United States 1,860
Minooka City in Illinois, United States of America 11,456
Morris City in Illinois 15,162
Nettle Creek Township in Grundy County, Illinois 484
South Wilmington Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 637
Verona Village in Illinois, United States 208
Wauponsee Unincorporated community in Illinois 2,329

County Cities on Map (15)

Illinois Counties (102)

Cook County (5,108,284) DuPage County (917,481) Lake County (693,593) Will County (688,726) Kane County (531,010) McHenry County (305,888) Winnebago County (281,295) Madison County (262,635) Saint Clair County (258,046) Champaign County (209,192) Sangamon County (193,882) Peoria County (177,652) McLean County (171,256) Rock Island County (140,907) Tazewell County (130,777) Kendall County (130,638) Kankakee County (108,594) LaSalle County (107,571) DeKalb County (104,491) Macon County (103,015) Vermilion County (74,855) Williamson County (66,415) Adams County (64,783) Jackson County (56,675) Whiteside County (54,656) Boone County (52,777) Grundy County (50,993) Coles County (50,383) Ogle County (50,306) Knox County (49,053) Henry County (48,411) Macoupin County (44,567) Stephenson County (43,831) Woodford County (38,091) Franklin County (38,060) Clinton County (37,398) Jefferson County (37,235) Marion County (37,045) Livingston County (35,414) Monroe County (34,739) Effingham County (34,065) Fulton County (33,690) Lee County (33,647) Morgan County (33,400) Bureau County (32,303) Christian County (32,075) Randolph County (31,351) McDonough County (29,295) Logan County (28,383) Montgomery County (28,045) Iroquois County (26,711) Saline County (23,182) Jersey County (21,616) Shelby County (21,299) Fayette County (21,264) Jo Daviess County (21,239) Perry County (20,664) Douglas County (19,510) Crawford County (18,512) Hancock County (17,422) Edgar County (16,858) Warren County (16,696) Union County (16,498) Piatt County (16,355) Bond County (16,262) Wayne County (16,031) Richland County (15,507) Lawrence County (15,467) De Witt County (15,368) Clark County (15,268) Pike County (15,239) Mercer County (15,225) Moultrie County (14,347) Carroll County (14,241) Washington County (13,764) Massac County (13,636) White County (13,364) Mason County (13,173) Clay County (13,079) Ford County (12,949) Greene County (12,702) Johnson County (12,358) Menard County (12,068) Cass County (11,925) Marshall County (11,309) Wabash County (11,190) Cumberland County (10,649) Jasper County (9,465) Hamilton County (8,084) Schuyler County (6,738) Brown County (6,546) Henderson County (6,535) Edwards County (6,356) Putnam County (5,716) Alexander County (5,497) Stark County (5,262) Pulaski County (5,201) Scott County (4,950) Gallatin County (4,793) Calhoun County (4,616) Pope County (4,142) Hardin County (3,808)