Cities & Towns in Knox County, IL

Knox County, county in Illinois, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 49,053 inhabitants. The county was created 199 years ago in 1825. Its county seat is Galesburg.

There are 16 city/town in Knox County, IL. The largest city of Knox County is Galesburg with a population of 29,803. Other cities include, Truro population 18,532, Abingdon population 3,008, Knox population 2,692, Knoxville population 2,692


Galesburg, County seat of Knox County, Illinois, United States


Truro, Human settlement in United States of America


Abingdon, City in Knox County, Illinois, United States of America

Knox County is located in west central Illinois. The county seat is Galesburg. Here are some details on Knox County's cities and towns:


  • With over 30,000 residents, Galesburg is by far the largest city in Knox County
  • Home to Knox College, a private liberal arts college founded in 1837
  • Known for its historic architecture and railroad connections


  • Town of around 3,200 residents located south of Galesburg
  • Hosts the annual Abingdon Pumpkin Festival in the fall
  • Home to popular Lake Storey Park and recreation facilities


  • Rural village with around 3,000 residents settled in the 1830s
  • Known as the boyhood home of humorist Edgar Lee Masters
  • Home to the Simmons House, Knox County Courthouse, and movie theater


  • Small town of around 700 residents incorporated in 1872
  • Popular spot for camping and recreation along the Cedar Creek
  • Home to historic Little Crow Ski Resort, founded in 1960


  • Village of around 1,300 residents located along BNSF Railway
  • Hosts an annual Wataga Days Celebration each September
  • Governed by a village president and board of trustees

In summary, Knox County is a mix of Galesburg as the urban hub along with smaller, rural farming communities that showcase Illinois heritage.

All Knox County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Knox County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Abingdon City in Knox County, Illinois, United States of America 3,008
Altona Village in Illinois, United States 490
East Galesburg Human settlement in Knox Township, Illinois, United States of America 761
Galesburg County seat of Knox County, Illinois, United States 29,803
Knox County seat of Knox County, Tennessee, United States; third-largest city in Tennessee 2,692
Knoxville City in Knox County, Illinois, United States 2,692
Maquon Township in Knox County, Illinois 259
Oneida City in Illinois, USA 653
Ontario Unincorporated community in Illinois 871
Rio Village in Illinois, USA 280
Saint Augustine Human settlement in Knox County, Illinois, United States of America 111
Truro Human settlement in United States of America 18,532
Victoria Village in Illinois, United States 282
Wataga Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 773
Williamsfield Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 538
Yates City Village in Illinois, United States 641

County Cities on Map (16)

Illinois Counties (102)

Cook County (5,108,284) DuPage County (917,481) Lake County (693,593) Will County (688,726) Kane County (531,010) McHenry County (305,888) Winnebago County (281,295) Madison County (262,635) Saint Clair County (258,046) Champaign County (209,192) Sangamon County (193,882) Peoria County (177,652) McLean County (171,256) Rock Island County (140,907) Tazewell County (130,777) Kendall County (130,638) Kankakee County (108,594) LaSalle County (107,571) DeKalb County (104,491) Macon County (103,015) Vermilion County (74,855) Williamson County (66,415) Adams County (64,783) Jackson County (56,675) Whiteside County (54,656) Boone County (52,777) Grundy County (50,993) Coles County (50,383) Ogle County (50,306) Knox County (49,053) Henry County (48,411) Macoupin County (44,567) Stephenson County (43,831) Woodford County (38,091) Franklin County (38,060) Clinton County (37,398) Jefferson County (37,235) Marion County (37,045) Livingston County (35,414) Monroe County (34,739) Effingham County (34,065) Fulton County (33,690) Lee County (33,647) Morgan County (33,400) Bureau County (32,303) Christian County (32,075) Randolph County (31,351) McDonough County (29,295) Logan County (28,383) Montgomery County (28,045) Iroquois County (26,711) Saline County (23,182) Jersey County (21,616) Shelby County (21,299) Fayette County (21,264) Jo Daviess County (21,239) Perry County (20,664) Douglas County (19,510) Crawford County (18,512) Hancock County (17,422) Edgar County (16,858) Warren County (16,696) Union County (16,498) Piatt County (16,355) Bond County (16,262) Wayne County (16,031) Richland County (15,507) Lawrence County (15,467) De Witt County (15,368) Clark County (15,268) Pike County (15,239) Mercer County (15,225) Moultrie County (14,347) Carroll County (14,241) Washington County (13,764) Massac County (13,636) White County (13,364) Mason County (13,173) Clay County (13,079) Ford County (12,949) Greene County (12,702) Johnson County (12,358) Menard County (12,068) Cass County (11,925) Marshall County (11,309) Wabash County (11,190) Cumberland County (10,649) Jasper County (9,465) Hamilton County (8,084) Schuyler County (6,738) Brown County (6,546) Henderson County (6,535) Edwards County (6,356) Putnam County (5,716) Alexander County (5,497) Stark County (5,262) Pulaski County (5,201) Scott County (4,950) Gallatin County (4,793) Calhoun County (4,616) Pope County (4,142) Hardin County (3,808)