Cities & Towns in Coles County, IL

Coles County, county in Illinois, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 50,383 inhabitants. The county was created 194 years ago in 1830. Its county seat is Charleston.

There are 9 city/town in Coles County, IL. The largest city of Coles County is Charleston with a population of 20,034. Other cities include, Mattoon population 17,513, Paradise population 1,293, Hutton population 879, Ashmore population 740


Charleston, City in Illinois


Mattoon, City in Illinois


Paradise, Unincorporated community in Illinois

Located in east-central Illinois, Coles County contains several small communities that provide insights into the region's history and heritage. Here are some key cities and towns:


Charleston is the largest city and county seat of Coles County with around 20,000 residents. It is home to Eastern Illinois University. Historic sites include the Coles County Courthouse, Lincoln Log Cabin State Historic Site, and various buildings on the National Register of Historic Places.


Mattoon is a city located along Interstate 57 in western Coles County. It has a population around 18,000. Points of interest include the Neoga Street Historic District, Ervin Park, and the Will Rogers Theater. The city hosts the annual BagelFest.


Ashmore is a village in eastern Coles County with around 825 residents. It was founded along railroad tracks in the 1880s. The Ashmore Elevator and Ashmore Presbyterian Church are historic landmarks. Greenwing Public Library serves the community.


Oakland is a small city located along Illinois Route 133 northwest of Charleston. It has around 900 residents. Sites of interest include Red Hill State Park, Wolf Creek Cemetery, and the Oakland Museum. Annual events include Oakland Barbeque Days.


Humboldt is a village along Highway 130 in northern Coles County with around 850 residents. It contains historic homes and buildings like the Allison Amphitheater. Humboldt is home to Fox Ridge State Park and Lincoln Log Cabin Historic Site.

From Eastern Illinois University to numerous historic sites, Coles County's small cities and towns provide insights into the heritage of east-central Illinois.

All Coles County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Coles County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Ashmore Township in Coles County, Illinois 740
Charleston City in Illinois 20,034
Embarrass Unincorporated community in Illinois 559
Humboldt Village in Coles County, Illinois, United States of America 414
Hutton Unincorporated community in Illinois 879
Lerna Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 274
Mattoon City in Illinois 17,513
Oakland City in Coles County, Illinois, United States 127
Paradise Unincorporated community in Illinois 1,293

County Cities on Map (9)

Illinois Counties (102)

Cook County (5,108,284) DuPage County (917,481) Lake County (693,593) Will County (688,726) Kane County (531,010) McHenry County (305,888) Winnebago County (281,295) Madison County (262,635) Saint Clair County (258,046) Champaign County (209,192) Sangamon County (193,882) Peoria County (177,652) McLean County (171,256) Rock Island County (140,907) Tazewell County (130,777) Kendall County (130,638) Kankakee County (108,594) LaSalle County (107,571) DeKalb County (104,491) Macon County (103,015) Vermilion County (74,855) Williamson County (66,415) Adams County (64,783) Jackson County (56,675) Whiteside County (54,656) Boone County (52,777) Grundy County (50,993) Coles County (50,383) Ogle County (50,306) Knox County (49,053) Henry County (48,411) Macoupin County (44,567) Stephenson County (43,831) Woodford County (38,091) Franklin County (38,060) Clinton County (37,398) Jefferson County (37,235) Marion County (37,045) Livingston County (35,414) Monroe County (34,739) Effingham County (34,065) Fulton County (33,690) Lee County (33,647) Morgan County (33,400) Bureau County (32,303) Christian County (32,075) Randolph County (31,351) McDonough County (29,295) Logan County (28,383) Montgomery County (28,045) Iroquois County (26,711) Saline County (23,182) Jersey County (21,616) Shelby County (21,299) Fayette County (21,264) Jo Daviess County (21,239) Perry County (20,664) Douglas County (19,510) Crawford County (18,512) Hancock County (17,422) Edgar County (16,858) Warren County (16,696) Union County (16,498) Piatt County (16,355) Bond County (16,262) Wayne County (16,031) Richland County (15,507) Lawrence County (15,467) De Witt County (15,368) Clark County (15,268) Pike County (15,239) Mercer County (15,225) Moultrie County (14,347) Carroll County (14,241) Washington County (13,764) Massac County (13,636) White County (13,364) Mason County (13,173) Clay County (13,079) Ford County (12,949) Greene County (12,702) Johnson County (12,358) Menard County (12,068) Cass County (11,925) Marshall County (11,309) Wabash County (11,190) Cumberland County (10,649) Jasper County (9,465) Hamilton County (8,084) Schuyler County (6,738) Brown County (6,546) Henderson County (6,535) Edwards County (6,356) Putnam County (5,716) Alexander County (5,497) Stark County (5,262) Pulaski County (5,201) Scott County (4,950) Gallatin County (4,793) Calhoun County (4,616) Pope County (4,142) Hardin County (3,808)