Cities & Towns in DeKalb County, IL

DeKalb County, county in Illinois, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 104,491 inhabitants. The county was created 187 years ago in 1837. Its county seat is Sycamore.

There are 11 city/town in DeKalb County, IL. The largest city of DeKalb County is DeKalb with a population of 42,621. Other cities include, Sycamore population 18,317, Sandwich population 7,384, Genoa population 5,251, Cortland population 4,393


DeKalb, The county seat of DeKalb County, Illinois.


Sycamore, City in Illinois


Sandwich, Town in DeKalb, Kendall, and LaSalle counties, Illinois, United States

Characterized by rolling farmland and quintessential Midwestern charm, DeKalb County in northern Illinois offers visitors a classic taste of American heartland living. The vibrant college town of DeKalb serves as the county seat and is home to Northern Illinois University, lending youthful energy to the area.

The rural farming communities of Sycamore, Genoa, and Sandwich provide glimpses into vintage Americana with their historic downtowns surrounded by picturesque countryside. Small villages like Kirkland, Maple Park, and Cortland retain their sleepy, rural atmospheres.

Outdoor recreation abounds countywide, from the tranquil hills of the Kishwaukee River Valley to the sprawling Lake Defiance Park. Annual events like the Sandwich Fair and Sycamore Pumpkin Festival celebrate DeKalb County’s heritage and culture.

With its patchwork countryside, historic architecture, and abundance of outdoor activities, DeKalb County encapsulates the beauty and spirit of rural living in the American Midwest. From its lively college city vibe to its quaint country charms, it offers an authentic taste of life in northern Illinois.

All DeKalb County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in DeKalb County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Cortland Township in DeKalb County, Illinois 4,393
DeKalb The county seat of DeKalb County, Illinois. 42,621
Genoa City in DeKalb County, Illinois, United States 5,251
Hinckley Illinois 2,042
Kirkland Village in DeKalb County, Illinois, United States 1,717
Malta Village in Illinois, US 1,161
Sandwich Town in DeKalb, Kendall, and LaSalle counties, Illinois, United States 7,384
Shabbona Township in DeKalb County, Illinois 913
Somonauk City in Illinois, United States of America 1,860
Sycamore City in Illinois 18,317
Waterman Human settlement in Illinois, United States of America 1,497

County Cities on Map (11)

Illinois Counties (102)

Cook County (5,108,284) DuPage County (917,481) Lake County (693,593) Will County (688,726) Kane County (531,010) McHenry County (305,888) Winnebago County (281,295) Madison County (262,635) Saint Clair County (258,046) Champaign County (209,192) Sangamon County (193,882) Peoria County (177,652) McLean County (171,256) Rock Island County (140,907) Tazewell County (130,777) Kendall County (130,638) Kankakee County (108,594) LaSalle County (107,571) DeKalb County (104,491) Macon County (103,015) Vermilion County (74,855) Williamson County (66,415) Adams County (64,783) Jackson County (56,675) Whiteside County (54,656) Boone County (52,777) Grundy County (50,993) Coles County (50,383) Ogle County (50,306) Knox County (49,053) Henry County (48,411) Macoupin County (44,567) Stephenson County (43,831) Woodford County (38,091) Franklin County (38,060) Clinton County (37,398) Jefferson County (37,235) Marion County (37,045) Livingston County (35,414) Monroe County (34,739) Effingham County (34,065) Fulton County (33,690) Lee County (33,647) Morgan County (33,400) Bureau County (32,303) Christian County (32,075) Randolph County (31,351) McDonough County (29,295) Logan County (28,383) Montgomery County (28,045) Iroquois County (26,711) Saline County (23,182) Jersey County (21,616) Shelby County (21,299) Fayette County (21,264) Jo Daviess County (21,239) Perry County (20,664) Douglas County (19,510) Crawford County (18,512) Hancock County (17,422) Edgar County (16,858) Warren County (16,696) Union County (16,498) Piatt County (16,355) Bond County (16,262) Wayne County (16,031) Richland County (15,507) Lawrence County (15,467) De Witt County (15,368) Clark County (15,268) Pike County (15,239) Mercer County (15,225) Moultrie County (14,347) Carroll County (14,241) Washington County (13,764) Massac County (13,636) White County (13,364) Mason County (13,173) Clay County (13,079) Ford County (12,949) Greene County (12,702) Johnson County (12,358) Menard County (12,068) Cass County (11,925) Marshall County (11,309) Wabash County (11,190) Cumberland County (10,649) Jasper County (9,465) Hamilton County (8,084) Schuyler County (6,738) Brown County (6,546) Henderson County (6,535) Edwards County (6,356) Putnam County (5,716) Alexander County (5,497) Stark County (5,262) Pulaski County (5,201) Scott County (4,950) Gallatin County (4,793) Calhoun County (4,616) Pope County (4,142) Hardin County (3,808)