Cities & Towns in Jackson County, IL

Jackson County, county in Illinois, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 56,675 inhabitants. The county was created 208 years ago in 1816. Its county seat is Murphysboro.

There are 16 city/town in Jackson County, IL. The largest city of Jackson County is Carbondale with a population of 25,036. Other cities include, Murphysboro population 7,384, De Soto population 1,503, Elkville population 864, Sand Ridge population 761


Carbondale, City in Illinois, USA


Murphysboro, Town in Illinois

De Soto
De Soto

De Soto, Village in Illinois, United States

Jackson County is located in southern Illinois between St. Louis and Paducah. The county has around 60,000 residents. Here are some of the notable cities and towns in Jackson County:


Murphysboro serves as the county seat and largest city in Jackson County with around 8,000 residents. Located along the Big Muddy River, Murphysboro has antique shops and restaurants downtown. The city hosts the annual Apple Festival.


Carbondale is home to Southern Illinois University and has around 25,000 residents. The college town has a vibrant music and arts scene. Carbondale hosts events like the Lights Fantastic Parade.


Ava is a small town in western Jackson County with around 600 residents. The rural farming village has historic brick buildings downtown and a winery.

Grand Tower

Grand Tower is a village along the Mississippi River in southern Jackson County. With around 600 residents, the town has river views and a small historical museum.


Gorham is located in northwest Jackson County and has around 1,600 residents. The village has antique shops, a railroad museum, and hosts a Catfish Tournament.

Overall, Jackson County has a mix of college town culture in Carbondale and historic small towns along the rivers and rural farming communities. The area provides outdoor recreation and festivals celebrating the region's heritage.

All Jackson County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Jackson County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Ava City in Illinois 610
Campbell Hill Town 310
Carbondale City in Illinois, USA 25,036
De Soto Village in Illinois, United States 1,503
Degognia Township in Jackson County, Illinois 141
Dowell Village in Jackson County, Illinois, USA 385
Elkville City in Illinois, United States of America 864
Gorham Village in Jackson County, Illinois, United States 219
Grand Tower City in Jackson County, Illinois, USA 560
Harrison Census-designated place in Jackson County, Illinois, USA 639
Makanda City in Illinois, United States of America 529
Murphysboro Town in Illinois 7,384
Pomona Township of Illinois 755
Sand Ridge Human settlement in United States of America 761
Vergennes City in Jackson County, Illinois, United States of America 279
West Point City in Illinois, United States of America 165

County Cities on Map (16)

Illinois Counties (102)

Cook County (5,108,284) DuPage County (917,481) Lake County (693,593) Will County (688,726) Kane County (531,010) McHenry County (305,888) Winnebago County (281,295) Madison County (262,635) Saint Clair County (258,046) Champaign County (209,192) Sangamon County (193,882) Peoria County (177,652) McLean County (171,256) Rock Island County (140,907) Tazewell County (130,777) Kendall County (130,638) Kankakee County (108,594) LaSalle County (107,571) DeKalb County (104,491) Macon County (103,015) Vermilion County (74,855) Williamson County (66,415) Adams County (64,783) Jackson County (56,675) Whiteside County (54,656) Boone County (52,777) Grundy County (50,993) Coles County (50,383) Ogle County (50,306) Knox County (49,053) Henry County (48,411) Macoupin County (44,567) Stephenson County (43,831) Woodford County (38,091) Franklin County (38,060) Clinton County (37,398) Jefferson County (37,235) Marion County (37,045) Livingston County (35,414) Monroe County (34,739) Effingham County (34,065) Fulton County (33,690) Lee County (33,647) Morgan County (33,400) Bureau County (32,303) Christian County (32,075) Randolph County (31,351) McDonough County (29,295) Logan County (28,383) Montgomery County (28,045) Iroquois County (26,711) Saline County (23,182) Jersey County (21,616) Shelby County (21,299) Fayette County (21,264) Jo Daviess County (21,239) Perry County (20,664) Douglas County (19,510) Crawford County (18,512) Hancock County (17,422) Edgar County (16,858) Warren County (16,696) Union County (16,498) Piatt County (16,355) Bond County (16,262) Wayne County (16,031) Richland County (15,507) Lawrence County (15,467) De Witt County (15,368) Clark County (15,268) Pike County (15,239) Mercer County (15,225) Moultrie County (14,347) Carroll County (14,241) Washington County (13,764) Massac County (13,636) White County (13,364) Mason County (13,173) Clay County (13,079) Ford County (12,949) Greene County (12,702) Johnson County (12,358) Menard County (12,068) Cass County (11,925) Marshall County (11,309) Wabash County (11,190) Cumberland County (10,649) Jasper County (9,465) Hamilton County (8,084) Schuyler County (6,738) Brown County (6,546) Henderson County (6,535) Edwards County (6,356) Putnam County (5,716) Alexander County (5,497) Stark County (5,262) Pulaski County (5,201) Scott County (4,950) Gallatin County (4,793) Calhoun County (4,616) Pope County (4,142) Hardin County (3,808)