Cities & Towns in Montgomery County, KS

Montgomery County, county in Kansas, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 31,502 inhabitants. The county was created 157 years ago in 1867. Its county seat is Independence.

There are 12 city/town in Montgomery County, KS. The largest city of Montgomery County is Coffeyville with a population of 9,169. Other cities include, Cherryvale population 2,122, Caney population 1,948, Bolton population 1,634, Sycamore population 808


Coffeyville, City in southeastern Montgomery County, Kansas, United States


Cherryvale, City in Montgomery County, Kansas, United States of America


Caney, City in Montgomery County, Kansas, United States of America

Montgomery County is located in southeastern Kansas. The county seat and largest city is Independence. Some other notable cities in Montgomery County include:


Independence is the largest city in Montgomery County with a population of around 9,500 people. Independence is known for its beautiful parks, historic downtown area, and popular Labor Day picnic. Some key attractions in Independence include the Neewollah Festival, Ralph Mitchell Zoo, and Independence Historical Museum.


Coffeyville has a population of around 10,000 residents. It is located in the southeast corner of Montgomery County along the Oklahoma border. Coffeyville is known for being the site of the famous Dalton Gang shootout in 1892. Key attractions include the Brown Mansion, Dalton Defenders Museum, and the Coffeyville Public Library.


Caney is a small town of around 2,000 people located north of Coffeyville along the Oklahoma border. Caney claims to be the first town in Kansas to strike oil back in 1892. Some points of interest include the Caney Valley Historical Society Museum, Brick Capital Museum, and the old-fashioned downtown area.


Cherryvale is a small agricultural community with around 2,400 residents. It is located northwest of Independence. The town hosts an annual Cherry Blossom Festival in the spring. Other attractions include the Cherryvale Museum and the Cherryvale Public Library.

All Montgomery County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Montgomery County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Bolton City in United States of America 1,634
Caney City in Montgomery County, Kansas, United States of America 1,948
Cherryvale City in Montgomery County, Kansas, United States of America 2,122
Coffeyville City in southeastern Montgomery County, Kansas, United States 9,169
Dearing Human settlement in Montgomery County, Kansas, United States of America 377
Elk City City in Montgomery County, Kansas, United States 292
Havana City in Kansas, United States 104
Independence City in and the county seat of Montgomery County, Kansas, United States 123
Jefferson Unincorporated community in Kansas, United States 95
Liberty City in Kansas, United States 110
Sycamore Unincorporated community in Montgomery County, Kansas 808
Tyro Human settlement in Montgomery County, Kansas, United States of America 195

County Cities on Map (12)

Kansas Counties (105)

Johnson County (607,220) Sedgwick County (519,907) Shawnee County (175,999) Wyandotte County (165,265) Douglas County (122,530) Leavenworth County (82,246) Riley County (73,202) Butler County (66,992) Reno County (61,793) Saline County (53,926) Crawford County (38,730) Finney County (35,917) Cowley County (34,628) Miami County (34,334) Harvey County (34,291) Ford County (33,094) Lyon County (33,045) Geary County (32,218) Montgomery County (31,502) Ellis County (28,671) McPherson County (28,448) Franklin County (25,703) Barton County (25,658) Pottawatomie County (24,722) Sumner County (22,578) Seward County (21,038) Cherokee County (19,681) Labette County (19,586) Jefferson County (19,032) Dickinson County (18,266) Atchison County (16,015) Neosho County (15,929) Osage County (15,770) Bourbon County (14,435) Jackson County (13,171) Allen County (12,399) Marion County (11,652) Nemaha County (10,121) Linn County (9,654) Marshall County (9,652) Brown County (9,482) Rice County (9,362) Pratt County (9,127) Cloud County (8,642) Wilson County (8,362) Coffey County (8,158) Clay County (8,025) Anderson County (7,949) Thomas County (7,702) Doniphan County (7,496) Grant County (7,077) Kingman County (6,974) Wabaunsee County (6,906) Russell County (6,804) Pawnee County (6,366) Ellsworth County (6,034) Gray County (5,954) Mitchell County (5,879) Greenwood County (5,868) Sherman County (5,777) Ottawa County (5,712) Morris County (5,559) Washington County (5,427) Stevens County (5,388) Harper County (5,336) Norton County (5,328) Phillips County (5,181) Rooks County (4,827) Scott County (4,790) Republic County (4,536) Barber County (4,358) Stafford County (4,046) Meade County (4,029) Haskell County (3,923) Kearny County (3,745) Smith County (3,544) Osborne County (3,439) Chautauqua County (3,230) Woodson County (3,015) Lincoln County (2,986) Rush County (2,947) Jewell County (2,833) Decatur County (2,776) Ness County (2,768) Trego County (2,758) Edwards County (2,750) Logan County (2,732) Gove County (2,621) Cheyenne County (2,600) Chase County (2,586) Morton County (2,538) Sheridan County (2,520) Rawlins County (2,511) Elk County (2,507) Kiowa County (2,456) Hamilton County (2,425) Graham County (2,389) Wichita County (2,074) Stanton County (1,969) Clark County (1,963) Hodgeman County (1,779) Comanche County (1,690) Wallace County (1,536) Lane County (1,518) Greeley County (1,196)