Cities & Towns in Shawnee County, KS

Shawnee County, county in Kansas, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 175,999 inhabitants. The county was created 168 years ago in 1855. Its county seat is Topeka.

There are 11 city/town in Shawnee County, KS. The largest city of Shawnee County is Tecumseh with a population of 7,777. Other cities include, Wakarusa population 2,174, Menoken population 1,613, Dover population 1,483, Silver Lake population 1,395


Tecumseh, Unincorporated community in Shawnee County, Kansas


Wakarusa, Census-designated place in Shawnee County, Kansas


Menoken, Township in Shawnee County, Kansas

Located in northeastern Kansas, Shawnee County balances urban living in the capital city of Topeka with the rural farmlands and tight-knit towns beyond city limits. As the county seat, Topeka serves as the economic and cultural center, renowned for its role in the Brown vs. Board of Education decision.

Just south of Topeka sits the small town of Willard, named after early settler Willard Davis who spearheaded the town’s development. Northwest of the capital is Silver Lake, situated around the body of water it’s named after and boasting recreational opportunities.

The northern part of the county is home to small farming towns like Tecumseh, Elmont, and Berryton. These rural communities still gather for time-honored traditions like summertime picnics and high school sport rivalries.

From the marble halls of the state capitol building to dusty country roads, Shawnee County encapsulates the spirit of the midwest. In Topeka and its surrounding towns, history and progress blend with small town living.

All Shawnee County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Shawnee County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Auburn City in Kansas, USA 1,203
Dover Unincorporated community in Shawnee County, Kansas 1,483
Menoken Township in Shawnee County, Kansas 1,613
Oakland Human settlement (possibly historical) 34
Richland Ghost town in Kansas, United States 27
Rossville Township in Shawnee County, Kansas 1,115
Silver Lake City in Shawnee County, Kansas, United States 1,395
Tecumseh Unincorporated community in Shawnee County, Kansas 7,777
Topeka Capital of the state of Kansas, United States; county seat of Shawnee County 873
Wakarusa Census-designated place in Shawnee County, Kansas 2,174
Willard City in Kansas, United States 88

County Cities on Map (11)

Kansas Counties (105)

Johnson County (607,220) Sedgwick County (519,907) Shawnee County (175,999) Wyandotte County (165,265) Douglas County (122,530) Leavenworth County (82,246) Riley County (73,202) Butler County (66,992) Reno County (61,793) Saline County (53,926) Crawford County (38,730) Finney County (35,917) Cowley County (34,628) Miami County (34,334) Harvey County (34,291) Ford County (33,094) Lyon County (33,045) Geary County (32,218) Montgomery County (31,502) Ellis County (28,671) McPherson County (28,448) Franklin County (25,703) Barton County (25,658) Pottawatomie County (24,722) Sumner County (22,578) Seward County (21,038) Cherokee County (19,681) Labette County (19,586) Jefferson County (19,032) Dickinson County (18,266) Atchison County (16,015) Neosho County (15,929) Osage County (15,770) Bourbon County (14,435) Jackson County (13,171) Allen County (12,399) Marion County (11,652) Nemaha County (10,121) Linn County (9,654) Marshall County (9,652) Brown County (9,482) Rice County (9,362) Pratt County (9,127) Cloud County (8,642) Wilson County (8,362) Coffey County (8,158) Clay County (8,025) Anderson County (7,949) Thomas County (7,702) Doniphan County (7,496) Grant County (7,077) Kingman County (6,974) Wabaunsee County (6,906) Russell County (6,804) Pawnee County (6,366) Ellsworth County (6,034) Gray County (5,954) Mitchell County (5,879) Greenwood County (5,868) Sherman County (5,777) Ottawa County (5,712) Morris County (5,559) Washington County (5,427) Stevens County (5,388) Harper County (5,336) Norton County (5,328) Phillips County (5,181) Rooks County (4,827) Scott County (4,790) Republic County (4,536) Barber County (4,358) Stafford County (4,046) Meade County (4,029) Haskell County (3,923) Kearny County (3,745) Smith County (3,544) Osborne County (3,439) Chautauqua County (3,230) Woodson County (3,015) Lincoln County (2,986) Rush County (2,947) Jewell County (2,833) Decatur County (2,776) Ness County (2,768) Trego County (2,758) Edwards County (2,750) Logan County (2,732) Gove County (2,621) Cheyenne County (2,600) Chase County (2,586) Morton County (2,538) Sheridan County (2,520) Rawlins County (2,511) Elk County (2,507) Kiowa County (2,456) Hamilton County (2,425) Graham County (2,389) Wichita County (2,074) Stanton County (1,969) Clark County (1,963) Hodgeman County (1,779) Comanche County (1,690) Wallace County (1,536) Lane County (1,518) Greeley County (1,196)