Cities & Towns in Cowley County, KS

Cowley County, county in Kansas, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 34,628 inhabitants. The county was created 157 years ago in 1867. Its county seat is Winfield.

There are 12 city/town in Cowley County, KS. The largest city of Cowley County is Arkansas City with a population of 11,669. Other cities include, Udall population 701, Burden population 527, Parkerfield population 412, Silverdale population 346

Arkansas City
Arkansas City

Arkansas City, City in Cowley County, Kansas, United States


Udall, Human settlement in Cowley County, Kansas, United States of America


Burden, Human settlement in Cowley County, Kansas, United States of America

Cowley County is located in south-central Kansas. The county seat and largest city is Winfield, with a population of around 12,000 residents. Some of the other notable cities and towns in Cowley County include:

Winfield - Winfield is the largest city in the county and home to Southwestern College. The city was founded in 1870 and has a quaint downtown area with local shops and eateries. Winfield hosts the Walnut Valley Festival each September which attracts musicians and artists from all over the country.

Arkansas City - Located along the Arkansas River, this city was once a busy cattle town. Today it still embraces its cowboy roots with an annual rodeo and many historic buildings downtown. Major employers include an air manufacturing plant.

Burden - This small town of just over 200 people hosts an annual Wheat Festival each July. Burden was founded by and named for Senator Frank Jay Burden.

Udall - Udall is located along the border with Sumner County. It suffered significant damage from a tornado in 1955 that killed 80 people in the town. It has recovered and rebuilt in the decades since.

Dexter - Dexter was founded in 1869 and has historically had grain elevators and mills along the railroad line. The downtown area still has many vintage buildings.

Cambridge - Cambridge is a rural farming community located in the northwest part of the county. It hosts a county fair in late July.

Other small Cowley County towns include Atlanta, Byers, Cedar Vale, Chautauqua, Cowley, Cresswell, Douglass, Floral, Maple City, New Salem, Oak Valley, Otter, Rock, Silverdale, and Tisdale. The county has a rich agricultural heritage and many of these small towns blossomed along the railroad lines in the late 1800s. Each has its own unique history and charm.

All Cowley County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Cowley County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Arkansas City City in Cowley County, Kansas, United States 11,669
Atlanta City in Cowley County, Kansas, United States 130
Burden Human settlement in Cowley County, Kansas, United States of America 527
Cambridge City in Kansas, United States 81
Dale Township in Kingman County, Kansas 150
Dexter City in Cowley County, Kansas, United States 271
Parkerfield Human settlement in Cowley County, Kansas, United States of America 412
Rock Unincorporated community in Cowley County, Kansas 127
Silverdale Township in Cowley County, Kansas 346
Tisdale Township in Cowley County, Kansas 314
Udall Human settlement in Cowley County, Kansas, United States of America 701
Winfield City in Cowley County, Kansas, United States 19

County Cities on Map (12)

Kansas Counties (105)

Johnson County (607,220) Sedgwick County (519,907) Shawnee County (175,999) Wyandotte County (165,265) Douglas County (122,530) Leavenworth County (82,246) Riley County (73,202) Butler County (66,992) Reno County (61,793) Saline County (53,926) Crawford County (38,730) Finney County (35,917) Cowley County (34,628) Miami County (34,334) Harvey County (34,291) Ford County (33,094) Lyon County (33,045) Geary County (32,218) Montgomery County (31,502) Ellis County (28,671) McPherson County (28,448) Franklin County (25,703) Barton County (25,658) Pottawatomie County (24,722) Sumner County (22,578) Seward County (21,038) Cherokee County (19,681) Labette County (19,586) Jefferson County (19,032) Dickinson County (18,266) Atchison County (16,015) Neosho County (15,929) Osage County (15,770) Bourbon County (14,435) Jackson County (13,171) Allen County (12,399) Marion County (11,652) Nemaha County (10,121) Linn County (9,654) Marshall County (9,652) Brown County (9,482) Rice County (9,362) Pratt County (9,127) Cloud County (8,642) Wilson County (8,362) Coffey County (8,158) Clay County (8,025) Anderson County (7,949) Thomas County (7,702) Doniphan County (7,496) Grant County (7,077) Kingman County (6,974) Wabaunsee County (6,906) Russell County (6,804) Pawnee County (6,366) Ellsworth County (6,034) Gray County (5,954) Mitchell County (5,879) Greenwood County (5,868) Sherman County (5,777) Ottawa County (5,712) Morris County (5,559) Washington County (5,427) Stevens County (5,388) Harper County (5,336) Norton County (5,328) Phillips County (5,181) Rooks County (4,827) Scott County (4,790) Republic County (4,536) Barber County (4,358) Stafford County (4,046) Meade County (4,029) Haskell County (3,923) Kearny County (3,745) Smith County (3,544) Osborne County (3,439) Chautauqua County (3,230) Woodson County (3,015) Lincoln County (2,986) Rush County (2,947) Jewell County (2,833) Decatur County (2,776) Ness County (2,768) Trego County (2,758) Edwards County (2,750) Logan County (2,732) Gove County (2,621) Cheyenne County (2,600) Chase County (2,586) Morton County (2,538) Sheridan County (2,520) Rawlins County (2,511) Elk County (2,507) Kiowa County (2,456) Hamilton County (2,425) Graham County (2,389) Wichita County (2,074) Stanton County (1,969) Clark County (1,963) Hodgeman County (1,779) Comanche County (1,690) Wallace County (1,536) Lane County (1,518) Greeley County (1,196)