Cities & Towns in Barton County, KS

Barton County, county in Missouri, United States of America. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 25,658 inhabitants. The county was created 168 years ago in 1855. Its county seat is Lamar.

There are 10 city/town in Barton County, KS. The largest city of Barton County is Hoisington with a population of 2,452. Other cities include, Ellinwood population 1,932, Great Bend population 1,653, Claflin population 593, Pawnee Rock population 230


Hoisington, City in Barton County, Kansas, United States of America


Ellinwood, City in Barton County, Kansas, United States of America

Great Bend
Great Bend

Great Bend, City in Barton County, Kansas, United States

Barton County is located in central Kansas along the Arkansas River. Some of the main cities and towns in Barton County include:

Great Bend - Great Bend is the largest city and county seat of Barton County. It has a population of around 15,000 residents. Great Bend hosts the Kansas State Fair and is home to the Golden Belt Bull Bash rodeo event. The city has a historic downtown with shops and restaurants. Major employers are the oil industry and agriculture.

Hoisington - With a population of around 3,000, Hoisington is the second largest city in Barton County. The town was named after John Hoisington, a Great Bend newspaper editor. **Hoisington is home to the Kansas Originals Museum showcasing Made in Kansas products.**

Ellinwood - Ellinwood has a population of around 2,000 residents. The town's economy relies heavily on agriculture and oil production. Ellinwood has multiple churches and a small historic downtown area. The Rock Island Railroad Depot in Ellinwood is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Claflin - Claflin is a small Barton County town with about 700 residents. The local economy includes agriculture and oil production. Claflin has an old schoolhouse museum and hosts an annual BarBQ contest.

Some other small towns in Barton County include Albert, Olmitz, and Susank. Most of the towns were established in the late 1800s along railroad lines. Agriculture and oil production continue to drive the economy across Barton County's cities and towns.

All Barton County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Barton County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Albert City in Kansas 163
Beaver Unincorporated community in Beaver Township, Barton County, Kansas, United States 76
Claflin City in Barton County, Kansas, United States of America 593
Ellinwood City in Barton County, Kansas, United States of America 1,932
Galatia City in Barton County, Kansas, United States of America 36
Great Bend City in Barton County, Kansas, United States 1,653
Hoisington City in Barton County, Kansas, United States of America 2,452
Olmitz City in Barton County, Kansas, United States of America 105
Pawnee Rock Township in Barton County, Kansas 230
Susank City in Barton County, Kansas, United States of America 31

County Cities on Map (10)

Kansas Counties (105)

Johnson County (607,220) Sedgwick County (519,907) Shawnee County (175,999) Wyandotte County (165,265) Douglas County (122,530) Leavenworth County (82,246) Riley County (73,202) Butler County (66,992) Reno County (61,793) Saline County (53,926) Crawford County (38,730) Finney County (35,917) Cowley County (34,628) Miami County (34,334) Harvey County (34,291) Ford County (33,094) Lyon County (33,045) Geary County (32,218) Montgomery County (31,502) Ellis County (28,671) McPherson County (28,448) Franklin County (25,703) Barton County (25,658) Pottawatomie County (24,722) Sumner County (22,578) Seward County (21,038) Cherokee County (19,681) Labette County (19,586) Jefferson County (19,032) Dickinson County (18,266) Atchison County (16,015) Neosho County (15,929) Osage County (15,770) Bourbon County (14,435) Jackson County (13,171) Allen County (12,399) Marion County (11,652) Nemaha County (10,121) Linn County (9,654) Marshall County (9,652) Brown County (9,482) Rice County (9,362) Pratt County (9,127) Cloud County (8,642) Wilson County (8,362) Coffey County (8,158) Clay County (8,025) Anderson County (7,949) Thomas County (7,702) Doniphan County (7,496) Grant County (7,077) Kingman County (6,974) Wabaunsee County (6,906) Russell County (6,804) Pawnee County (6,366) Ellsworth County (6,034) Gray County (5,954) Mitchell County (5,879) Greenwood County (5,868) Sherman County (5,777) Ottawa County (5,712) Morris County (5,559) Washington County (5,427) Stevens County (5,388) Harper County (5,336) Norton County (5,328) Phillips County (5,181) Rooks County (4,827) Scott County (4,790) Republic County (4,536) Barber County (4,358) Stafford County (4,046) Meade County (4,029) Haskell County (3,923) Kearny County (3,745) Smith County (3,544) Osborne County (3,439) Chautauqua County (3,230) Woodson County (3,015) Lincoln County (2,986) Rush County (2,947) Jewell County (2,833) Decatur County (2,776) Ness County (2,768) Trego County (2,758) Edwards County (2,750) Logan County (2,732) Gove County (2,621) Cheyenne County (2,600) Chase County (2,586) Morton County (2,538) Sheridan County (2,520) Rawlins County (2,511) Elk County (2,507) Kiowa County (2,456) Hamilton County (2,425) Graham County (2,389) Wichita County (2,074) Stanton County (1,969) Clark County (1,963) Hodgeman County (1,779) Comanche County (1,690) Wallace County (1,536) Lane County (1,518) Greeley County (1,196)