Cities & Towns in Douglas County, KS

Douglas County, county in Kansas, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 122,530 inhabitants. The county was created 168 years ago in 1855. Its county seat is Lawrence.

There are 8 city/town in Douglas County, KS. The largest city of Douglas County is Eudora with a population of 6,393. Other cities include, Baldwin City population 4,700, Kanwaka population 1,467, Lecompton population 659, Clinton population 621


Eudora, City in Kansas, United States

Baldwin City
Baldwin City

Baldwin City, City in Kansas, United States


Kanwaka, Township in Douglas County, Kansas

Situated in northeast Kansas along the Kansas River, Douglas County contains a mix of college town vibes and rural farmland communities. The county seat and most populous city is Lawrence, home to the University of Kansas and around 95,000 residents.

Lawrence is known for its youthful energy, live music, and culture stemming from the university. Just 10 miles south is the city of Eudora, home to around 6,000 people. Though small, Eudora retains a vibrant downtown and hosts community events like the annual Barber Shop Music Festival.

Beyond the two cities, Douglas County is dotted with dozens of tiny rural towns and villages. Baldwin City, located west of Lawrence, contains just over 4,500 residents and emphasizes its historic downtown. Lecompton, the oldest town in Douglas County, boasts under 600 people and ties to its role in pre-Civil War Kansas.

Other small towns like Big Springs, Clinton, and Lone Star round out the rural landscape of Douglas County. Though often overlooked, these tiny communities retain their agricultural heritage and quiet way of life. From the energy of Lawrence to the rural charm of small towns, Douglas County provides a taste of varied Kansas lifestyles.

All Douglas County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Douglas County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Baldwin City City in Kansas, United States 4,700
Clinton Unincorporated community in Douglas County, Kansas 621
Eudora City in Kansas, United States 6,393
Kanwaka Township in Douglas County, Kansas 1,467
Lawrence City in Kansas, United States 27
Lecompton City in Douglas County, Kansas, United States of America 659
Lone Star Unincorporated community in Douglas County, Kansas 284
Pleasant Grove Unincorporated community in Douglas County, Kansas 157

County Cities on Map (8)

Kansas Counties (105)

Johnson County (607,220) Sedgwick County (519,907) Shawnee County (175,999) Wyandotte County (165,265) Douglas County (122,530) Leavenworth County (82,246) Riley County (73,202) Butler County (66,992) Reno County (61,793) Saline County (53,926) Crawford County (38,730) Finney County (35,917) Cowley County (34,628) Miami County (34,334) Harvey County (34,291) Ford County (33,094) Lyon County (33,045) Geary County (32,218) Montgomery County (31,502) Ellis County (28,671) McPherson County (28,448) Franklin County (25,703) Barton County (25,658) Pottawatomie County (24,722) Sumner County (22,578) Seward County (21,038) Cherokee County (19,681) Labette County (19,586) Jefferson County (19,032) Dickinson County (18,266) Atchison County (16,015) Neosho County (15,929) Osage County (15,770) Bourbon County (14,435) Jackson County (13,171) Allen County (12,399) Marion County (11,652) Nemaha County (10,121) Linn County (9,654) Marshall County (9,652) Brown County (9,482) Rice County (9,362) Pratt County (9,127) Cloud County (8,642) Wilson County (8,362) Coffey County (8,158) Clay County (8,025) Anderson County (7,949) Thomas County (7,702) Doniphan County (7,496) Grant County (7,077) Kingman County (6,974) Wabaunsee County (6,906) Russell County (6,804) Pawnee County (6,366) Ellsworth County (6,034) Gray County (5,954) Mitchell County (5,879) Greenwood County (5,868) Sherman County (5,777) Ottawa County (5,712) Morris County (5,559) Washington County (5,427) Stevens County (5,388) Harper County (5,336) Norton County (5,328) Phillips County (5,181) Rooks County (4,827) Scott County (4,790) Republic County (4,536) Barber County (4,358) Stafford County (4,046) Meade County (4,029) Haskell County (3,923) Kearny County (3,745) Smith County (3,544) Osborne County (3,439) Chautauqua County (3,230) Woodson County (3,015) Lincoln County (2,986) Rush County (2,947) Jewell County (2,833) Decatur County (2,776) Ness County (2,768) Trego County (2,758) Edwards County (2,750) Logan County (2,732) Gove County (2,621) Cheyenne County (2,600) Chase County (2,586) Morton County (2,538) Sheridan County (2,520) Rawlins County (2,511) Elk County (2,507) Kiowa County (2,456) Hamilton County (2,425) Graham County (2,389) Wichita County (2,074) Stanton County (1,969) Clark County (1,963) Hodgeman County (1,779) Comanche County (1,690) Wallace County (1,536) Lane County (1,518) Greeley County (1,196)