Cities & Towns in Jefferson County, WI

Jefferson County, county in Wisconsin, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 85,038 inhabitants. The county was created 188 years ago in 1836. Its county seat is Jefferson.

There are 18 city/town in Jefferson County, WI. The largest city of Jefferson County is Fort Atkinson with a population of 12,372. Other cities include, Ixonia population 4,562, Farmington population 3,848, Johnson Creek population 3,065, Rome population 2,784

Fort Atkinson
Fort Atkinson

Fort Atkinson, City in Jefferson County, Wisconsin, United States of America


Ixonia, Town of Wisconsin


Farmington, Town in Jefferson County, Wisconsin, United States

Jefferson County is located in southeastern Wisconsin, between Madison and Milwaukee. While rich in agricultural areas, the county also has several small cities and towns. Here are some of the notable ones in Jefferson County:

Jefferson - The county seat and largest city in Jefferson County, with a population around 7,500 residents. The downtown area near the Rock River has quaint shops, restaurants, and historic architecture.

Fort Atkinson - Home to around 12,500 people, Fort Atkinson is the largest city in the county. It hosts the annual Hoard Historical Museum Dairyfest and has a historic downtown district.

Lake Mills - Located on the Rock Lake, this city of around 5,700 residents has a historic downtown district listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Watertown - Situated along the Rock River, Watertown is home to over 23,000 residents, making it one of the largest cities in the county. It has a historic downtown area with many 19th century buildings.

Whitewater - Whitewater is home to the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater campus and has a population around 15,000. It has grown rapidly in recent decades.

Johnson Creek - This village of around 3,000 residents hosts the annual Johnson Creek Old Car Show & Swap Meet every August.

Other popular small towns in Jefferson County include Palmyra, Sullivan, Waterloo, and Cambridge. The county has a strong agricultural tradition, with many farming communities and villages scattered throughout its rural landscape. Historic architecture can be found in many of its downtown areas.

All Jefferson County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in Jefferson County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Aztalan Civil town in Jefferson County, Wisconsin 1,493
Cold Spring Town in Wisconsin, United States 754
Concord Town in Wisconsin, United States 2,130
Farmington Town in Jefferson County, Wisconsin, United States 3,848
Fort Atkinson City in Jefferson County, Wisconsin, United States of America 12,372
Hebron Town of Wisconsin 1,132
Ixonia Town of Wisconsin 4,562
Jefferson City in and county seat of Jefferson County, Wisconsin 1,225
Johnson Creek City in Jefferson County, Wisconsin, United States of America 3,065
Lake Koshkonong Census designated place 1,204
Lake Mills City in Iowa, USA 2,135
Lake Ripley Census designated place 1,779
Milford City in Jefferson County, Wisconsin, United States of America 1,135
Palmyra Civil town in Jefferson County, Wisconsin 1,219
Rome Census-designated place in Jefferson County, Wisconsin, United States 2,784
Sullivan Village in Jefferson County, Wisconsin 2,299
Waterloo Fourth-class city in Jefferson County, Wisconsin 940
Watertown City in Jefferson County, New York 2,039

County Cities on Map (18)

Wisconsin Counties (72)

Milwaukee County (945,016) Dane County (552,536) Waukesha County (406,172) Brown County (264,610) Racine County (195,802) Outagamie County (188,766) Winnebago County (171,631) Kenosha County (169,671) Rock County (163,084) Washington County (136,445) Marathon County (135,593) La Crosse County (118,502) Sheboygan County (115,240) Eau Claire County (105,260) Walworth County (103,953) Fond du Lac County (102,902) Saint Croix County (91,838) Ozaukee County (90,043) Dodge County (87,336) Jefferson County (85,038) Manitowoc County (78,757) Wood County (72,560) Portage County (71,032) Chippewa County (64,737) Sauk County (64,449) Columbia County (57,668) Grant County (51,021) Waupaca County (50,664) Calumet County (50,209) Monroe County (46,582) Dunn County (45,452) Barron County (45,090) Polk County (43,794) Douglas County (43,702) Pierce County (42,700) Shawano County (40,786) Marinette County (40,262) Oconto County (38,383) Green County (36,603) Oneida County (35,751) Clark County (34,720) Vernon County (30,861) Trempealeau County (29,681) Door County (27,889) Lincoln County (27,566) Juneau County (26,908) Waushara County (24,326) Iowa County (23,640) Vilas County (22,356) Jackson County (20,630) Adams County (20,498) Kewaunee County (20,386) Taylor County (20,318) Langlade County (19,119) Green Lake County (18,908) Richland County (17,258) Sawyer County (16,700) Lafayette County (16,646) Crawford County (16,021) Washburn County (15,712) Marquette County (15,585) Burnett County (15,557) Ashland County (15,415) Bayfield County (15,242) Rusk County (14,022) Price County (13,245) Buffalo County (13,033) Forest County (8,960) Pepin County (7,271) Iron County (5,698) Menominee County (4,546) Florence County (4,298)