Cities & Towns in La Crosse County, WI

La Crosse County, county in Wisconsin, United States. As of 2020 county had an estimated population of 118,502 inhabitants. The county was created 173 years ago in 1851. Its county seat is La Crosse.

There are 14 city/town in La Crosse County, WI. The largest city of La Crosse County is La Crosse with a population of 51,163. Other cities include, North La Crosse population 50,470, Holmen population 10,368, Onalaska population 5,766, West Salem population 5,013

La Crosse
La Crosse

La Crosse, The most populous city in La Crosse County, Wisconsin.

North La Crosse

North La Crosse, A city in La Crosse County, Wisconsin.


Holmen, Village in La Crosse County, Wisconsin

Bordered by the mighty Mississippi River in western Wisconsin, La Crosse County is home to a blend of small cities, quaint towns, and picturesque rural villages. The largest city and county seat is La Crosse, which contains around 50,000 residents. La Crosse provides an urban hub while retaining a quintessentially Midwestern charm.

Just south of La Crosse is the river town of Onalaska, home to around 19,000 people. Smaller towns like West Salem, Bangor, and Holmen each have fewer than 10,000 residents and jewel-like downtowns. Out in the countryside, places like Rockland and Mindoro make up some of the tinier rural communities in La Crosse County.

Beyond the incorporated cities and towns, dozens of tiny unincorporated villages dot the rolling hills and valleys of the countryside. These settlements like St. Joseph's Ridge, Mormon Coulee, and Burns often consist of just a few farms, houses, and neighborhood bars.

From urban La Crosse to the remote rural outposts, La Crosse County encapsulates the heritage and beauty of western Wisconsin. In this post, we'll explore some hidden gems that give this county its character.

All La Crosse County Cities (Aphebetical)

List of cities, towns, neighborhoods & other populated places in La Crosse County.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z all
City Name Title Population
Bangor Village in La Crosse County, Wisconsin 644
Brice Prairie Census designated place 1,887
Burns Civil town in La Crosse County, Wisconsin 953
French Island Census designated place 119
Holmen Village in La Crosse County, Wisconsin 10,368
La Crosse The most populous city in La Crosse County, Wisconsin. 51,163
Maple Grove Civil town in Barron County, Wisconsin 958
Medary Human settlement in La Crosse County, Wisconsin, United States of America 1,533
North La Crosse A city in La Crosse County, Wisconsin. 50,470
Onalaska Fourth-class city in La Crosse County, Wisconsin 5,766
Rockland Village in eastern La Crosse County, Wisconsin, United States 984
Saint Joseph Census-designated place in La Crosse County, Wisconsin 4,192
Shelby Town in Wisconsin, United States 4,925
West Salem City in Wayne County, Ohio, United States of America 5,013

County Cities on Map (14)

Wisconsin Counties (72)

Milwaukee County (945,016) Dane County (552,536) Waukesha County (406,172) Brown County (264,610) Racine County (195,802) Outagamie County (188,766) Winnebago County (171,631) Kenosha County (169,671) Rock County (163,084) Washington County (136,445) Marathon County (135,593) La Crosse County (118,502) Sheboygan County (115,240) Eau Claire County (105,260) Walworth County (103,953) Fond du Lac County (102,902) Saint Croix County (91,838) Ozaukee County (90,043) Dodge County (87,336) Jefferson County (85,038) Manitowoc County (78,757) Wood County (72,560) Portage County (71,032) Chippewa County (64,737) Sauk County (64,449) Columbia County (57,668) Grant County (51,021) Waupaca County (50,664) Calumet County (50,209) Monroe County (46,582) Dunn County (45,452) Barron County (45,090) Polk County (43,794) Douglas County (43,702) Pierce County (42,700) Shawano County (40,786) Marinette County (40,262) Oconto County (38,383) Green County (36,603) Oneida County (35,751) Clark County (34,720) Vernon County (30,861) Trempealeau County (29,681) Door County (27,889) Lincoln County (27,566) Juneau County (26,908) Waushara County (24,326) Iowa County (23,640) Vilas County (22,356) Jackson County (20,630) Adams County (20,498) Kewaunee County (20,386) Taylor County (20,318) Langlade County (19,119) Green Lake County (18,908) Richland County (17,258) Sawyer County (16,700) Lafayette County (16,646) Crawford County (16,021) Washburn County (15,712) Marquette County (15,585) Burnett County (15,557) Ashland County (15,415) Bayfield County (15,242) Rusk County (14,022) Price County (13,245) Buffalo County (13,033) Forest County (8,960) Pepin County (7,271) Iron County (5,698) Menominee County (4,546) Florence County (4,298)