Owen County, Indiana

Owen County: County in Indiana, United States


Owen County is a county located in the U.S. state of Indiana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 21,575 and a population density of 21 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 20,833 inhabitants. Its county seat is Spencer. The county was created 204 years ago in 1818.

Quick Facts about Owen County

Population : 20,833 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Indiana (United States)
Different from : Owen County
Area : 1004 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.65%
Land as percent of area : 99.35%
Named for : Abraham Owen
Altitude : 787 feet / 240 meters
Capital : Spencer
Establishment : December 12, 1818
Time Zone : Eastern Time Zone
Local time : 09:06:51 (2nd June 2023)
Density : 21 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : -3.56% (2010-2020)
Owen County locator map
Location of Owen County on Indiana map.
Owen County Indiana Courthouse image
Owen County Indiana Courthouse
Owen County Indiana Courthouse image


Owen County is located at 39°18'46"N 86°50'16"W (39.3128100, -86.8376500). It has 5 neighbors: Clay County, Greene County, Monroe County, Morgan County and Putnam County.

Owen County map

The largest city of Owen County is Stockton with a population of 8,190. . See all Owen County cities & populated places.

Owen County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Owen County.

City Name Population Title
Stockton 8,190 Human settlement in United States of America
Spencer 2,262 Town in Washington Township, Owen County, Indiana, United States
Gosport 797 Town in Indiana

Owen County has 5 neighbours.

  • Spencer


According to census records, the population of Owen County decreased by 3.56% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 21,575 - census
2011 21,489 -0.4% estimation process
2012 21,368 -0.57% estimation process
2013 21,153 -1.02% estimation process
2014 21,019 -0.64% estimation process
2015 20,826 -0.93% estimation process
2016 20,898 0.34% estimation process
2017 20,791 -0.51% estimation process
2018 20,862 0.34% estimation process
2019 20,799 -0.3% estimation process
2020 20,833 0.16% estimation process

Comitatul Owen, Comte d'Owen, Comte dOwen, Comté d'Owen, Comté dOwen, Condado de Owen, Condado han Owen, Contea di Owen, Hrabstwo Owen, Okrug Oven, Ouehn, Ouen, Ouen srjan, Owen, Owen Kun, Owen Kūn, Owen konderria, Owen megye, Oweni maakond, Quan Owen, Quận Owen, ou wen xian, ou~en jun, raena ka'unti, shhrstan awwn ayndyana, Округ Овен, Оуен, Оуэн, Օուեն շրջան, اوون کاؤنٹی، انڈیانا, شهرستان اوون، ایندیانا, مقاطعة أوين, ৱেন কাউন্টি, オーウェン郡, 歐文縣

People born in Owen County (2)

People born in Owen County, including politician Newell Sanders, artist Theodore Clement Steele, .


Other places with the same name (2)

Indiana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Marion County 966,183 County in Oregon, United States
Indianapolis 877,903 City in and county seat of Marion County, Indiana, United States and the Indiana federated state capital city
Lake County 487,536 County in Indiana, United States
Allen County 382,187 County in Indiana, United States
Hamilton County 344,238 County in Indiana, United States
Fort Wayne 272,398 County seat of Allen County, Indiana, United States
Saint Joseph County 271,484 County in Indiana, United States
Elkhart County 206,161 County in Indiana, United States
Tippecanoe County 196,115 County in the northwest quadrant of Indiana, United States
Vanderburgh County 182,447 County in Indiana, United States
Hendricks County 173,251 County in Indiana, United States
Porter County 170,980 County in Indiana, United States
Johnson County 160,607 County in Indiana, United States
Monroe County 148,219 County in Indiana, United States
Madison County 129,681 County in Indiana, United States
Clark County 119,266 County in Indiana, United States