Tippecanoe County, Indiana

Tippecanoe County: County in the northwest quadrant of Indiana, United States


Tippecanoe County is a county located in the U.S. state of Indiana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 172,780 and a population density of 133 people per km². After 10 years in 2020 county had an estimated population of 196,115 inhabitants. Its county seat is Lafayette. The county was created 196 years ago in 1826.

Quick Facts about Tippecanoe County

Population : 196,115 (2020)
Country : United States of America
State : Indiana (United States)
Area : 1303 km2
Water as percent of area : 0.68%
Land as percent of area : 99.32%
Named for : Tippecanoe River
Altitude : 558 feet / 170 meters
Capital : Lafayette
Establishment : January 01, 1826
Time Zone : Eastern Time Zone
Local time : 10:09:22 (18th August 2022)
Density : 151 Pop. per km² as of 2020
Population growth : 11.9% (2010-2020)
Tippecanoe County locator map
Location of Tippecanoe County on Indiana map.
Tippecanoe courthouse 7-2004 image
Tippecanoe courthouse 7-2004
Tippecanoe courthouse 7-2004 image


Tippecanoe County is located at 40°23'19"N 86°53'39"W (40.3886200, -86.8941000). It has 7 neighbors: Benton County, Carroll County, Clinton County, Fountain County, Montgomery County, Warren County and White County.

Tippecanoe County map

The largest city of Tippecanoe County is Lafayette with a population of 71,484. Other cities include, West Lafayette population 51,605, Shadeland population 1,784, Taylor population 798 and Clarks Hill population 734. See all Tippecanoe County cities & populated places.

Tippecanoe County Populated Places

Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods & Other Populated Places in Tippecanoe County.

City Name Population Title
Lafayette 71,484 City in Indiana, USA
West Lafayette 51,605 City in Indiana, USA
Buck Creek 9,362 Census-designated place in Tippecanoe County, Indiana
Battle Ground 1,973 Town in Indiana, United States
Shadeland 1,784 City in Tippecanoe County, Indiana, United States of America
Dayton 1,667 Town in Indiana, USA
Taylor 798 City in Indiana, United States of America
Clarks Hill 734 City in Tippecanoe County, Indiana, United States of America

Tippecanoe County has 7 neighbours.

  • Lafayette


The population of Tippecanoe County increased by 11.9% in 10 years.

Year Population % Change Method
2010 172,780 - census
2011 175,861 1.75% estimation process
2012 179,124 1.82% estimation process
2013 181,953 1.55% estimation process
2014 184,433 1.34% estimation process
2015 186,723 1.23% estimation process
2016 190,292 1.88% estimation process
2017 191,199 0.47% estimation process
2018 193,817 1.35% estimation process
2019 195,732 0.98% estimation process
2020 196,115 0.2% estimation process

Comitatul Tippecanoe, Comte de Tippecanoe, Comté de Tippecanoe, Condado de Tippecanoe, Condado han Tippecanoe, Contea di Tippecanoe, Hrabstwo Tippecanoe, Okrug Tipikanu, Quan Tippecanoe, Quận Tippecanoe, Tipikanu, Tipikanu srjan, Tipikehnu, Tippecanoe, Tippecanoe Kun, Tippecanoe Kūn, Tippecanoe konderria, Tippecanoe maakond, Tippecanoe megye, Tippikanu, di po ka nu xian, shhrstan typkanw ayndyana, tipikanu jun, tippekanarae ka'unti, Округ Типикану, Типикану, Типикэну, Тіппікану, Տիպիկանու շրջան, شهرستان تیپکانو، ایندیانا, مقاطعة تيبيكانوي, ٹیپیکینیو کاؤنٹی، انڈیانا, টিপ্পেকানৱে কাউন্টি, ティピカヌー郡, 蒂珀卡努縣

People born in Tippecanoe County (5)

People born in Tippecanoe County, including politician Charles T. Doxey, businessman Donald V. Fites, cartoonist John T. McCutcheon, .


  • Sarah Stockton (Indiana Physician) she was born in 01/01/1842
  • John Lorin Smiley (Agriculture Industry business person) he was born in 11/12/1852

Indiana Other Counties (more counties)

County Name Population Title
Marion County 966,183 County in Oregon, United States
Indianapolis 877,903 City in and county seat of Marion County, Indiana, United States and the Indiana federated state capital city
Lake County 487,536 County in Indiana, United States
Allen County 382,187 County in Indiana, United States
Hamilton County 344,238 County in Indiana, United States
Fort Wayne 272,398 County seat of Allen County, Indiana, United States
Saint Joseph County 271,484 County in Indiana, United States
Elkhart County 206,161 County in Indiana, United States
Vanderburgh County 182,447 County in Indiana, United States
Hendricks County 173,251 County in Indiana, United States
Porter County 170,980 County in Indiana, United States
Johnson County 160,607 County in Indiana, United States
Monroe County 148,219 County in Indiana, United States
Madison County 129,681 County in Indiana, United States
Clark County 119,266 County in Indiana, United States
Evansville 118,407 County seat of Vanderburgh County, Indiana, United States